Oatmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
These pancakes were very very good! I did add 1/4 cup of ground flax seed for more fiber and 1 tsp. of cinnamon and 1/4 cup of brown sugar (omitted the white sugar). I tripled the recipe because I fed 4 people and my youngest som loves pancakes for leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Great way to get the little ones to eat some oatmeal! I thought it had too much milk - next time will cut it down to at least 3/4 or maybe 2/3 cup, or 1/2 cup with another egg - to give them some more protein. Added some cinnamon and used about 1/8 cup sugar/Splenda mix, so they would not need so much syrup. Thanks for a wonderful idea for a nutritious breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Hearty. I added a small amount of brown sugar, a few dashes of cinnamon and a teaspoon of ground flaxseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I found this recipe here when I couldn't find my recipe for Oatmeal Pancakes. This recipe was...tasty but it seemed like there was something missing. It made seven medium pancakes which was just enough for my husband and two sons. The buttermilk was a nice touch (I soured whole milk with vinegar, as buttermilk is a little pricey for a one time use.) and I added a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice and a 1/4 tsp. of salt. My husband mentioned that it would be more like apple cinnamon oatmeal with chopped apples, so I plan on adding some next time that have been tossed with a sugar/cinnamon mixture. I plan on working with this a couple more times to suit my family's tastes. Good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emmanuelle
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I tried it without much expectation and It was fabulous. I will never make regular pancakes again !!! Thx for this great recipe. I made those again this morning and added a pinch of cinnamon to the batter as a reviewer suggested and it was even more delicious. This recipe really is a keeper !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Les Ulis, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Amazing - I wouldn't change a thing. I'm from the south and these are exactly the same as our favorite restaurant if not better! Everyone should try this recipe! Just be sure to give them a good coating of the breading!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cafe mocha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This recipe was okay. It was a bit weird to me to have lumpy oats in my pancakes. It would be better if the oats were ground up, perhaps. I also thought the batter was a bit thin. I prefer thick, fluffy pancakes rather than thin ones. I definitely think that the recipe Oatmeal Pancakes II is WAY better if you want oats in your pancakes. Oh, but one good thing I'll say about this recipes is that it is VERY easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
With Diabetes in the household and a gastric bypass - I'm looking for complex carb turnarounds of solid favorites. Like others, I used a stone ground whole wheat flour, 1/4 teaspoon salt - and more sugar -- except that we are a splenda household these days - so I substituted straight splenda for the white sugar (2 Tablespoons) and 1 1/2 teaspoons of the splenda brown sugar blend. (equivelent of 1 Tablespoon of regular br. sugar) I also added a half dead banana that was in need of a purpose. With the addition of the banana - I quickly discovered that it needed a serious boost in leavening -- and added a half teaspoon of baking powder as well as the soda already in the recipe. We like our pancakes light and fluffy. This did the trick. Topped with some sugar free syrup - and Log Cabin seems to have the best flavor - it was a healthy makeover. Also, I recommend to everyone - keep buttermilk in the house. When it's called for, even sour milk doesn't quite give the recipe the same kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
these turn out extremely light and fluffy and are excellent! i usually modify the recipe for 2, and it works wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilymaria518

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
great recipe----I tried it today using 1% milk and it turned out fine----great for a cold winter day :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: St. Marys, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States