Oatmeal Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I need to preface this review by stating emphatically I am a Bisquick pancake girl. It's what I grew up on, it's all I know. NOT ANY MORE!!! I love, love, love these pancakes! They are nice and fluffy and w/a great flavor and texture. I subbed whole wheat flour and Splenda brown sugar blend for the AP flour and sugar (and I only had old fashioned oats) w/amazing results. I also am not a big fan of buttermilk, so I used 1% "regular" milk. I am a home made pancake convert, and healthy ones, at that! THANK YOU for an awesome recipe (DH concurs). My only wish is that I'd had the ingredients to make home made butter & maple syrup to serve along with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
298 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I made these this morning before school. It was my first time making my own pancakes, and they were awesome! I made some slight modifications: I used skim milk instead of buttermilk and substituted two egg whites for one whole egg. I also added banana slices to the batter, and topped my finished pancakes with whipped cream, additional banana slices, and a generous sprinkling of wheat bran. Delicious! Probably better than the pancakes I've had at Bob Evans. Thank you for this recipe! UPDATE: I made these again today. Same modifications: skim milk, egg white. This time I also substituted whole wheat flour for white and added more chopped banana than last time. They turned out wonderfully! I love them even more now. Can't wait to eat them in the morning! Next time I'll add some semi-sweet mini chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Picture Taker

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LDYLVBGR
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
These were pretty good, kids and husband liked them. I like the addition of the oatmeal. I doubled this recipe, blending the dry ingredients in the processor first, then the wet just to incorporate it. Next time I may add a touch less baking soda or add some brown sugar to hide the baking powder taste (there was a slight taste of it). *Update 1* I made these again with 1/2 tsp. baking soda and 2 Tbl brown sugar. They came out great! *Update 2* to this I've also added in 1/4 C. pecans, blended right in with everything else. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDYLVBGR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Chef Helen
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
the baking soda was unnecessary. i used regular milk and it came out just fine. also, i didn't have a food processor so i just whisked the mixture. pancakes turned out great-- they had a lot of flavor and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I decided to go healthy and use whole wheat flour and splenda and I still got two thumbs up from my sometimes-finicky five year old. I separated the egg yolk & whites and beat the whites and folded them in at the end and the pancakes came out light and flufyy. The only thing I would change about this recipe is the amount of salt. As other reviewers have mentioned, they are a bit too salty, at least for my taste. I prefer my pancakes sweet, not savoury.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cairo Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2002
I used 1/2 tsp baking soda and thought the recipe was delicious, not bitter at all. I do recommend mixing the oatmeal and buttermilk first and letting it sit while you prepare the rest of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
Good texture, but too much salt. I'll cut it back to 1/4 t next time. I also used vinegar and powdered milk as a good substitution for buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
Says it serves 4, but we only had 3 pancakes each. Need to double the recipe to get a good number of pancakes. We liked them and I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
Very yummy and simple. Has a nice different taste. Added some pecans for a nutty flavor. Didn't have buttermilk, so used 3 teaspoons of vinegar and the rest 2% milk to make total of 3/4 c. Still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2003
Excellent! These are healthier and more flavorful than regular pancakes. I took some other reviewer's suggestions and used part yogurt, skim milk and half whole-wheat flour. I also (accidentally) left out the oil, but we didn't miss it (just made sure I oiled the griddle well!) I'm looking forward to making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 591) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States