Oatmeal Pancakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
My family really enjoyed this recipe, although I did make a few changes. I doubled the recipe, used 1/2 AP and 1/2 Whole Wheat Flour, 1/2 white and 1/2 brown sugar and almond milk in place of buttermilk and the pancakes turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
These were excellent! Usually whole wheat can yield very dense results, but not these. They were fluffy, hearty, tasty, and light... not to mention, healthy. The few adjustments I made were purely personal and not altering the recipe. I replaced one of the tablespoons of oil with unsweetened applesauce, omitted the sugar (because I like to douse in maple syrup later!), and instead of buttermilk I used 2% milk – as it’s what I had on hand. I added blueberries since I had an abundance of them! This recipe is not only yummy, but it is extremely quick and simple. I have a mini food processor and it was the perfect size for this recipe. This one's a keeper; thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I make these pancakes almost every weekend for my family. I make them a little healthier by using whole wheat flour. I don't think you can tell the difference. I love that they also contain oatmeal, so I don't feel so bad about making pancakes every Saturday. The oatmeal adds a really nice texture but since it's ground up in the food processor, you don't really notice it's there. The vanilla adds a nice flavor. Sometimes I use half the milk and make up the rest with ricotta. It makes them fluffier, but they fall apart a little easier. I never have buttermilk on hand, so I just use regular milk. Sometimes I add blueberries or chocolate chips and bananas (not that anyone needs this suggestion to think of that!) o have tried many other pancake recipes on this site and this is the one I always come back to. There's definitely no need to keep pancake mix on hand when you have this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
This is exactly the pancake recipe I was looking for - to find a great recipe that I could make accommodate some dietary restrictions. I made a few changes - can't eat wheat so subbed Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Baking Mix. I also increased the amount of oats and decreased the amount of flour. Used just 1 tbs oil. Also am non dairy so used almond milk with a splash of vinegar. Also added fresh blueberries. Perfect pancakes!!! (I've been trying various recipes and the search stops here.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
These turned out great, even my 'thou shalt eat no oatmeal' girl loved them. I used 1/2 white and 1/2 wheat flour and regular milk instead of buttermilk since I didn't have any. Keeper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zimmerle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
I made this recipe for 12 servings. I loved it. It was delicious. I didn't use buttermilk though. I substituted 2 1/2 c. of milk with a little over 2 tblsps. of lemon. THEY were delicous and sweet. Not fluffy, but I didn't expect them to be. But very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Super delicious, made them twice first time as the recipe calls and then with chocolate, they were absolutely yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
We love this recipe! We've been making it every weekend for about six months now. I add one teaspoon of cinnamon, and always double it to feed our 4-person family. If you want to sneak in a bit more protein, substitute the buttermilk for equal parts greek yogurt and milk. Also, if you're out of buttermilk and do the recommended substitutions, know that using vinegar will bring out a salty taste in the pancakes. I prefer lemon juice. This recipe is a superstar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Urbana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
I decided to cut a few more calories and use almond milk (30 cup)instead of buttermilk (100 cup). I also added 1/2 Tablespoon white vinegar. These turned out delicious! My finicky, 12yo daughter asked if I would continue making these when we have pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Really good, but the serving sizes are pretty small. I made 8 servings for six people and it made about 10 pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 607) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pancakes

See how easy it is to make light, fluffy pancakes from scratch.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States