Oatmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
These were really good. My son and his friend said they were good and my son said they were the best I've made. Keep in mind, I only make whole wheat pancakes so that is what they are being compared to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
So yummy! A keeper. We served this with homemade peach jam that I had on hand. The batter was so runny I added about 1/2 c. brown rice flour (white flour would have done the trick, too). They were still thin but that seemed to be the intent. Also, I didn't have buttermilk and subbed with water and regular milk. I will make these over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
These pancakes are GREAT! They tasted so good I wept with joy. The buttermilk syrup was excellent. Gladys deserves a Nobel Peace Prize for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian the Kitchen Ninja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I really liked the pancakes. Despite being made with 100% whole grains, they were light and fluffy. Tasted great too. I was out of wheat germ so I subbed oat bran. I also used canola oil. Now the syrup. I don't know what happened there but I messed it up somehow. The sugar, corn syrup and butter never really formed a liquid, just a mass of sugar that couldn't really be "stirred". I cooked it until golden brown anyway and then poured in the buttermilk. The result was wierd, like a thin sour/sugar syrup that was lumpy and separated. Not sure if it was supposed to be that way. So we just used regular maple syrup. Still 5 stars because the syrup thing might have been my fault, and the pancakes were delicious. Had this with 'Breakfast Sausage' from this site for dinner, and scrabled eggs. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Thanks so much. I was looking for a healthy recipe. Scratch is ALWAYS better than store bought. We made heart pancakes for Valentines. Great consistancy and mix of ingredients. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
These were wonderful! I didn't have wheat germ, so I substituted 1/4 cup white flour, and I made my own buttermilk using milk and vinegar (1 tbsp. vinegar or lemon juice then add enough whole milk to make 1 cup. My syrup looked a little separated - probably because I didn't use real buttermilk - but I put in in the blender for a few seconds and that smoothed it right up. This got rave reviews from my family, especially on the syrup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Shame on me for not taking advice of other reviews: Cool the sugar syrup mixture completely before adding cold buttermilk. I will make this many times more for my mom and dad who loved it. They usually eat oatmeal every morning, but now we'll have this on Sundays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky
Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Washington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I'm only rating the pancake because I haven't tried the syrup yet. These pancakes are really easy, fluffy, and healthy!! I replaced half of the oil with applesauce and omitted the instant dry milk because I didn't have any and they still turned out great. I did add a half teaspoon on baking powder, and I think it made the pancakes a little more fluffy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
So good! even my 5 year old loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I also did not make the syrup. I'm on South Beach, and the syrup has too much sugar for me, but I'd love to try it eventually. The pancakes were wonderful. I took the advise of another reviewer and added 1/2 tsp of baking powder to make sure they rose, and they did. I also added a little cinnamon and vanilla to the batter, and sprinkled some golden raisins over the uncooked side of the pancakes before flipping them. Served with Smart Balance and sugar-free syrup, these made a healthy breakfast for me and my husband. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States