Oatmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
These were delicious! As another suggested, I also added the 1/2 tsp baking powder to make them a bit more fluffy. I also added 1 tsp vanilla and about 1/2 tsp cinnamon. My boys loved them and had seconds! Thank you so much for a healthy pancake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I also did not make the syrup. I'm on South Beach, and the syrup has too much sugar for me, but I'd love to try it eventually. The pancakes were wonderful. I took the advise of another reviewer and added 1/2 tsp of baking powder to make sure they rose, and they did. I also added a little cinnamon and vanilla to the batter, and sprinkled some golden raisins over the uncooked side of the pancakes before flipping them. Served with Smart Balance and sugar-free syrup, these made a healthy breakfast for me and my husband. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
First, I will rate the pancakes. They tasted fine and I love that they have no all purpose flour. They were a little too flat for my liking, and tastes a little bland. But with butter milk syrup you really don't need worry about the pancakes being bland. Second, the syrup. This did not turn out at all. I made it the first time and I thought I miscalculated the ingredients, so I made this a second time. I was very careful to follow ingredients and instructions exactly. Worst syrup ever. I have made this kind of syrup before but that recipe tells you to add the buttermilk WITH the sugar, butter and corn syrup then boil until golden brown. This recipe just tells you to stir in the buttermilk after it cooks. Mine ended up turning into a hard rock stage when I added the buttermilk. At this point there was no combining of the two ingredients. So since the syrup is part of this recipe, then I have to give this a 2 star. Pancakes were still good tho. Look up German pancakes with buttermilk sauce recipe from this sight. That is the syrup I ended up making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
These pancakes are GREAT! They tasted so good I wept with joy. The buttermilk syrup was excellent. Gladys deserves a Nobel Peace Prize for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian the Kitchen Ninja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
My family really enjoyed these pancakes! I did 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce instead of just oil, and I added a couple shakes of cinnamon. I didn't have buttermilk so I mixed 2 Tbl. of Lemon Juice with 2 Cups of Milk and let it sit for 5-10 minutes. I will certainly be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Wow, very impressive! I was a bit hesitant to make these because I thought that they may taste to grainy, but they were amazing! I used regular syrup because I didn't have the ingredients to mkae the buttermilk syrup. I also did not add the dry milk because I didn't have any. I used vanilla non-fat yogart and a tbsp of apple cider vinegar (because I was out of regular milk). What a great healthy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
These are very good pancakes for being whole grain. I didn't have the ingredients for the syrup, but I might try them again with it. The pancakes were moist, but slightly dense...another problem was that the wheat germ flakes were somewhat annoying. Other than that, I really enjoyed these. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This review is for the syrup only: The syrup was very good. I used it with a different oatmeal pancake recipe that I know my picky husband likes (Oatmeal Pancakes II). It made the pancakes taste like buttery, sugary "Christmas cookies." My husband didn't like it because he found it too sweet. When I removed the sugar mixture from heat and added the buttermilk, the two had an almost explosive reaction where the milk splattered all over and the sugar mixture solidified. I wound up bringing it back to a boil to melt the carmel back down, and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah “Sarha” Oboda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Delicious!! I also added the vanilla and b.powder and they turned out great! I have 4 kids ages 4 - 2, and they ate every bite! My kids didn't like the syrup, but my husband and I did! (I think my kids are just used to traditional maple) What a great recipe. I will be making this again! Thank you Gladys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
So good! even my 5 year old loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States