Oatmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
These were really good. My son and his friend said they were good and my son said they were the best I've made. Keep in mind, I only make whole wheat pancakes so that is what they are being compared to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
So yummy! A keeper. We served this with homemade peach jam that I had on hand. The batter was so runny I added about 1/2 c. brown rice flour (white flour would have done the trick, too). They were still thin but that seemed to be the intent. Also, I didn't have buttermilk and subbed with water and regular milk. I will make these over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
These pancakes are GREAT! They tasted so good I wept with joy. The buttermilk syrup was excellent. Gladys deserves a Nobel Peace Prize for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian the Kitchen Ninja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I really liked the pancakes. Despite being made with 100% whole grains, they were light and fluffy. Tasted great too. I was out of wheat germ so I subbed oat bran. I also used canola oil. Now the syrup. I don't know what happened there but I messed it up somehow. The sugar, corn syrup and butter never really formed a liquid, just a mass of sugar that couldn't really be "stirred". I cooked it until golden brown anyway and then poured in the buttermilk. The result was wierd, like a thin sour/sugar syrup that was lumpy and separated. Not sure if it was supposed to be that way. So we just used regular maple syrup. Still 5 stars because the syrup thing might have been my fault, and the pancakes were delicious. Had this with 'Breakfast Sausage' from this site for dinner, and scrabled eggs. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Thanks so much. I was looking for a healthy recipe. Scratch is ALWAYS better than store bought. We made heart pancakes for Valentines. Great consistancy and mix of ingredients. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
The consistancy of the batter is strange and the taste of the pancakes we didn't care for. If you are going to make this I would suggest putting the oats in a blender or food processer to make it into a powder. There were big chunks of flour sticking to all the lumpy oats floating around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
These were wonderful! I didn't have wheat germ, so I substituted 1/4 cup white flour, and I made my own buttermilk using milk and vinegar (1 tbsp. vinegar or lemon juice then add enough whole milk to make 1 cup. My syrup looked a little separated - probably because I didn't use real buttermilk - but I put in in the blender for a few seconds and that smoothed it right up. This got rave reviews from my family, especially on the syrup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
very good. I did not have wheat germ so I used white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I love these pancakes. :) I make a few modifications... I'm not a fan of syrup, so I increase the brown sugar to 6T and eat them plain. In addition to it all I add a 1/4 c cracked wheat and a 1/4 c walnuts. I omit the eggs, but add an additional teaspoon of baking powder and they're just fine. I also substitute water for the buttermilk and take the oil out entirely (just lightly spray the pan with cooking oil before you pour the pancake). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Shame on me for not taking advice of other reviews: Cool the sugar syrup mixture completely before adding cold buttermilk. I will make this many times more for my mom and dad who loved it. They usually eat oatmeal every morning, but now we'll have this on Sundays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky
Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Washington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States