Oatmeal Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I also did not make the syrup. I'm on South Beach, and the syrup has too much sugar for me, but I'd love to try it eventually. The pancakes were wonderful. I took the advise of another reviewer and added 1/2 tsp of baking powder to make sure they rose, and they did. I also added a little cinnamon and vanilla to the batter, and sprinkled some golden raisins over the uncooked side of the pancakes before flipping them. Served with Smart Balance and sugar-free syrup, these made a healthy breakfast for me and my husband. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
So good! even my 5 year old loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
I am only rating the pancakes. I tried to make the syrup, but i was talking on the phone and I ended up burning the sugar - so I just used maple syrup. A couple changes I made: I omitted the powdered milk (since I didn't have any on hand), I also used 1 cup sour cream and 1 cup sour milk instead of the buttermilk (which I didn't have). The pancakes were hearty, without being hard. I don't think I would call them fluffy or light. Whether that is because of my modifications, I don't know. One change I would make is to add salt, as they were somewhat tasteless. Overall, I liked them. I am giving it 4 stars because they were good, but not spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I'm only rating the pancake because I haven't tried the syrup yet. These pancakes are really easy, fluffy, and healthy!! I replaced half of the oil with applesauce and omitted the instant dry milk because I didn't have any and they still turned out great. I did add a half teaspoon on baking powder, and I think it made the pancakes a little more fluffy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Shame on me for not taking advice of other reviews: Cool the sugar syrup mixture completely before adding cold buttermilk. I will make this many times more for my mom and dad who loved it. They usually eat oatmeal every morning, but now we'll have this on Sundays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky
Home Town: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Washington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I love these pancakes. :) I make a few modifications... I'm not a fan of syrup, so I increase the brown sugar to 6T and eat them plain. In addition to it all I add a 1/4 c cracked wheat and a 1/4 c walnuts. I omit the eggs, but add an additional teaspoon of baking powder and they're just fine. I also substitute water for the buttermilk and take the oil out entirely (just lightly spray the pan with cooking oil before you pour the pancake). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
very good. I did not have wheat germ so I used white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
These were wonderful! I didn't have wheat germ, so I substituted 1/4 cup white flour, and I made my own buttermilk using milk and vinegar (1 tbsp. vinegar or lemon juice then add enough whole milk to make 1 cup. My syrup looked a little separated - probably because I didn't use real buttermilk - but I put in in the blender for a few seconds and that smoothed it right up. This got rave reviews from my family, especially on the syrup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
The consistancy of the batter is strange and the taste of the pancakes we didn't care for. If you are going to make this I would suggest putting the oats in a blender or food processer to make it into a powder. There were big chunks of flour sticking to all the lumpy oats floating around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Thanks so much. I was looking for a healthy recipe. Scratch is ALWAYS better than store bought. We made heart pancakes for Valentines. Great consistancy and mix of ingredients. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States