Oatmeal Molasses Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Delicious! I don't use quick oats, so I used rolled oats and it turned out abulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Excellent. Just the way I wanted it to taste. Made it in the bread machine. Will probably make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Delicious bread! I made in my bread machine. I will definitely make this over and over again. I was looking for a squaw bread recipe. This is what I had in mind. I will cut back on the honey or molasses because I think I'd enjoy it even more if it were a little less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This bread is way too sweet. I reduced molasses to 1/4c. And even with this reduction it's still more of a "dessert" bread. I also used rolled oats and as a result opted to bake on whole wheat cycle. Make sure to use Light Crust setting. Mine was VERY brown. I must say though that the consistency of the bread was really good: neither airy nor too heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I thought it was one of the best breads I've ever made in my bread machine.So moist and pretty. Thanks for the recipe.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by georgi porgi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Delicious but very sweet. I made this for a 2nd time and used 2 1/4 tsp of dry active yeast. The top of the loaf was flat. I'll use 2 tsp of yeast next time instead. The bread is still quite tasty, if not as pretty as usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
raised then fell flat.. even tried raising it in a bowl after it fell.. not sure i did anything wrong,,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I just made this and it is fantastic!! I made it as the recipe states only I substitued canola oil for the vegetable oil. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephen, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This IS a 2 lb loaf -- and very sweet. I added about 4 Tblsps of flour during the mix cycle, due to wetness of dough, as noted by others. Unlike the first photo, my bread is so fluffy and soft that it's difficult to cut, and the bread rose all the way to the top of my bread machine. Next time I may cut the molasses in half or use a little wheat flour, to curb the sweetness. I'll also bake the bread in the oven -- in TWO pans. 4 stars. ***************************************** Okay -- changed 4 stars to 5 today. Because of its sweetness, this bread makes awesome French toast! Instead of my usual nutmeg, I used cinnamon in the milk/egg mix, since I thought it would better enhance the molasses flavor. Yummy! (Jan 15)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States