Oatmeal Molasses Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
I make this one all in the bread machine but I use 2 cups of Whole Wheat flour and 1 cup of Oat flour and it is OUT OF THIS WORLD! I frequently take this one to work because it's so popular. Just the right amount of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
Still waiting for this to emerge from the oven, but it smells great. I did the bread by hand, and needed at least another 1 1/4 cups of flour. The thing never rose, so I just popped it into a hilaf pan, and... still not rising. But it will probably make great french toast, or the like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I followed the directions exactly and tried to make the whole thing in my bread machine. The dough was sticky and barely rose. I added more flour and it became less sticky but never fully baked. It tasted ok, but was heavy and dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
I bake very often and this bread had a great flavor but did not rise at all! I threw it in and baked it anyway and while taste was great it was understandably very dense. Good as toast, but didn't keep past two days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
made the best bread pudding ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Great bread. I have made it ten times, two times the bread did not rise and was lop-sided - this may be due to the salt effecting the yeast. given as gifts, drives my office mad when I make it for toast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
This bread is delicious! I made the whole thing in the bread machine on the wheat bread setting. I used 2 tsp of active dry yeast, 1 and 1/2 cups of bread flour and 1 and 1/8 cups of wheat flour, and only 1/8 cup of honey. Someone had mentioned that this recipe comes out lopsided but with the ingredients above, mine came out perfectly with a very nice consistency also. I may try it with a little less molasses next time because it was sweet but it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
I made this entirely in the breadmaker as well. It was a very sticky dough. I used 2 cups unbleached flour and 1 cup whole-wheat. It rose up very tall (to within 1cm of the machine's window) and even. I will definately make it again, but may leave out the honey, as I found it to be too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
i dont know about this i think it needed more flour i baked it for 35 minutes and the middle was still raw i wont make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
wonderful- cannot wait to use for sandwiches. Made totally in the breadmaker and I substituted the white flour for whole wheat flour. I probably used about 1/4 cup less flour than called for since wheat is denser than the white. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States