Oatmeal Molasses Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I just made this and it is fantastic!! I made it as the recipe states only I substitued canola oil for the vegetable oil. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephen, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This IS a 2 lb loaf -- and very sweet. I added about 4 Tblsps of flour during the mix cycle, due to wetness of dough, as noted by others. Unlike the first photo, my bread is so fluffy and soft that it's difficult to cut, and the bread rose all the way to the top of my bread machine. Next time I may cut the molasses in half or use a little wheat flour, to curb the sweetness. I'll also bake the bread in the oven -- in TWO pans. 4 stars. ***************************************** Okay -- changed 4 stars to 5 today. Because of its sweetness, this bread makes awesome French toast! Instead of my usual nutmeg, I used cinnamon in the milk/egg mix, since I thought it would better enhance the molasses flavor. Yummy! (Jan 15)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
We got a bread maker for Christmas, and this was my first attempt at using it (although we had a machine years ago, so I wasn't totally new to how it's done). I followed the directions, but the dough was very wet so I had to add alot more flour. The loaf rose well and it tasted great, but the bread was too doughy. I guess I need more practice with basic breads before I get "fancy" with this kind of thing. I'll try this recipe another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Amazing bread!!! I did the whole thing in my bread maker, but put the yeast on top of everything since I was putting it on a 12 hour cycle so it would be ready in the morning and it was fantastic!!! it was chewy, rich and dense and was just plain amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kealafly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
awesome! so sweet and delish... nice and dense. we made this with some wintery soup and it was a perfect dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
My first go-round with this loaf was a flop - LITERALLY - when I failed to notice the yeast had expired! The second trial went far better. I love this bread toasted with some butter/margarine and a slice of cheddar cheese on top. The sweet/savoury combination is wonderful! Just be careful - this loaf burns VERY easily in the toaster. In fact, I would be sure to set your bread machine to 'light' if you'll be baking it right in the machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Was absolutely stunning. Sweet and moist and chewy and dark. I didn't have quick oats, so I subbed for porridge oats and cooked mine on the "whole wheat" setting in my breadmaker and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teacupnosaucer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This is very sweet, and a huge loaf of bread. Not sure it only makes a 1 1/2 lb loaf! It was rather wet, though--I had to add about 1 1/2 c of flour, so maybe that's what did it. At any rate, I'm using two loaf pans to bake it in next time. This does turn out very sweet, not a surprise with all that molasses and honey. The texture is a bit dense but nice enough for sandwiches and for using with soup, which is what I had it with for lunch today. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Delicious! This bread rose beautifully, had a moist fluffy texture, and tasted great (not too sweet). According to reviews and prior experience, I made the following modifications: No honey, just full amount of molasses and 1 extra tablespoon veggie oil, bread maker setting was 1.5-2 lb WHEAT loaf although I only used bread flour and oats as recommended, also added 4 extra tablespoons of flour during the kneading cycle because I live in a very humid climate (DE). If I was in Colorado I would use an extra tablespoon of water and no extra flour. My new favorite recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Loved this easy to make bread. The flavor was amazing and what is more simple than puting ingredients into a bread machine and letting that take care of all the work. The bread was moist with just the right amount of sweetness. Thanks for the awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States