Oatmeal MM Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I baked these cookies last night for UFC 79 and everyone loved them. I did not have butter flavored shortening so I used 1/4 c butter and 1/4 c shortening with no adverse effect to the cookies. I also split the recipe in half before adding the candy-coated milk chocolate pieces. In half I added raisins and walnuts and in the other half I added the candy-coated milk chocolate pieces and walnuts. Both cookies were fabulous! The cookie dough tasted great also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMES_MOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2001
These were delicious cookies; however, I would love to know why the dough would not hold together very well. It was VERY crumbly and difficult to drop by spoonfuls. Otherwise, everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This is a very versatile recipe, and a very good one I might add. I found out, after starting the dough, that I didn't have enough candies, nor did I have almond flavoring. I used all vanilla and decided to fill the rest of the cup with the candies with pecans and raisins. I also didn't have any butter-shortening, so I put in a little butter for flavor and regular shortening. Boy, these turned out so yummy!! I will definitely use this recipe again as I know you can add almost any combination of things to the mix and it will come out yummy. Thanks Ellen, the kids, nephews, grandma and myself couldn't wait to pop them in our mouths after they got out of the oven! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheridan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2002
We have tried a lot of M&M cookie recipes, yet this one is about the best we've tasted. After the holidays, I was eager to try something that had a healthy ingredient like oatmeal in it (after weeks of a very "sugary" season!) So the next time I made treats, I tried this recipe. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
These cookies are excellet!!! I decreased the Rolled Oats to 1 1/4 cups and they came out perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Thanks so much for a base that I can make my diabetic hubbie a treat. I make my own Splenda Brown Sugar Blend. I mix 2 parts Splenda with 1 part Dark Brown Sugar. My blend actually was clumpy, so I put in the blender & it made a fine powdered sugar like texture. Used 1/3 cup of that blend, 1/3 cup of more Splenda & 1/3 cup of regular brown sugar. Used Whole Wheat Pastry Flour, less oats because mine are Organic Old Fashioned. Found Dark Choco M&M's after Christmas on clearance, used less that the cup. Hubbie was so happy! I learned on the Splenda site to cook at a lower temp, these were perfect at 350 for 9 minutes. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I am not a great cookie maker. This cookie recipe just changed that!! These were the best cookies ever!!! They kept their shape, did not spread all over the pan and were chewy!! Thank you for a WONDERFUL recipe. This will be my base recipe for every cookie from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by selena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bark River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I doubled the recipe as suggested by another reviewer- the dough was way too dry and wouldn't stick together. So I added some peanut butter to get it to stick together. Mmm-mmm. I didn't have almond extract, so I doubled the vanilla. I had to bake them longer, about 15 minutes. They turned out good, not great, but I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This was a great recipe!! However, the yield is kind of small. I would try doubling it next time. 2 dozen may sound like a lot, but once you start eating these you can't stop!! :) I made a few changes, because I live abroad and not all of the ingredients are available; I used butter instead of shortening, and because I only have one bag of miniature M&Ms and didn't want to use them all up, I used 1/2 cup M&Ms and 1/2 cup chocolate chip cookies. They turned out GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnie K

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ra'anana, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
These were delicious!! I added butterscotch chips instead of M&Ms and baked them into bars. They were moist, gooey, and full of flavor. 5 Stars for a great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States