Oatmeal Jam Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I have made this recipe twice in one weekend. It is very good. Here are some tips. Use the 9 X 13 pan but you will need to reserve only about 3/4 C of crumb mixture- otherwise there won't be enough to pack into the pan. I reserved all of the walnuts for the topping. I added 1 TSP of Vanilla and subbed nutmeg for cinnamon. Oh one more thing... I used half a jar of jam for each batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2001
YUM YUM!!! So quick and easy to make too! Great for a brunch or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QHHUNTERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This was a very easy recipe to make. My whole family LOVED it! It was gone in 2 days! I will be making this one a couple times a month for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Westminster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
They taste just like the ones my mom used to make! They came out perfect, I have already made them twice now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
These were so delicious, fast and easy to make. And it was great I got to use up some of the raspberry jam from our garden(we have more than we can shake a stick at). thank you so much for this recipe =] i'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timiah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This one is absolutely wonderful. I had to make it twice to get it right though. Word of advice... Do not substitute margarine for the butter. It gives it a weird taste reminiscent of burnt rubber... or maybe that's just me. When I made it with the butter, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
These are yummy! The only thing I found to be a bit better was to use shortening instead of butter (I tried it both ways). They came out a bit flakier and 'lighter' with the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
We really like these. We were looking for a healthy treat, though, so I substituted 1/2 cup applesauce for 1/2 cup of the butter. It added a really good flavor, reduced the fat, and I think helped the improve the crumbly factor other reviewers have mentioned--they stuck together just fine. However, one reviewer said she left out the sugar entirely and put tons of jam so I tried to just put half the sugar and tons of jam. It was okay but next time I'm just gonna put the sugar. Half the sugar = breakfast snack (not a problem), but all the sugar = treat (yum!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
3 out of 4 family members love this. i made it into muffins though and only do half with the nuts so my son can take to school(nut free school). i made a dozen yesterday and only 6 remain 18 hrs later! great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by s.oakley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I could eat a million of these and never get sick of them. Not to mention, by simply switching the jam, its a completely dessert. If you're really feeling bold, mix up a few different flavors of Jam in one batch and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chappaqua, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States