Oatmeal Jam Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
3 out of 4 family members love this. i made it into muffins though and only do half with the nuts so my son can take to school(nut free school). i made a dozen yesterday and only 6 remain 18 hrs later! great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by s.oakley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
We really like these. We were looking for a healthy treat, though, so I substituted 1/2 cup applesauce for 1/2 cup of the butter. It added a really good flavor, reduced the fat, and I think helped the improve the crumbly factor other reviewers have mentioned--they stuck together just fine. However, one reviewer said she left out the sugar entirely and put tons of jam so I tried to just put half the sugar and tons of jam. It was okay but next time I'm just gonna put the sugar. Half the sugar = breakfast snack (not a problem), but all the sugar = treat (yum!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
These are yummy! The only thing I found to be a bit better was to use shortening instead of butter (I tried it both ways). They came out a bit flakier and 'lighter' with the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This one is absolutely wonderful. I had to make it twice to get it right though. Word of advice... Do not substitute margarine for the butter. It gives it a weird taste reminiscent of burnt rubber... or maybe that's just me. When I made it with the butter, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
These were so delicious, fast and easy to make. And it was great I got to use up some of the raspberry jam from our garden(we have more than we can shake a stick at). thank you so much for this recipe =] i'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timiah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
They taste just like the ones my mom used to make! They came out perfect, I have already made them twice now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This was a very easy recipe to make. My whole family LOVED it! It was gone in 2 days! I will be making this one a couple times a month for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Westminster, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This came out WAY to crumbly and would not stay in squares. I basically served it like it was a cobbler or a crisp. The taste is ok but not the greatest, will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
Very good! I didn't use any sugar.And used a lot more jelly. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
These were pretty good- I made them for playgroup and the 1 and 2 year olds LOVED them, even the two picky eaters! The only thing I didn't like was that they ended up kind of crumbly- not the easiest to eat as a cookie. They did set up a little better the next day. The jelly also seemed to bake into the two layers- so it didn't have the layered effect I had wanted. BUT they tasted good- so I'll probably try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States