Oatmeal Jam Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly and I don't taste what other people did that rated this 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I added half a cup of peanut butter and named them peanut butter and jelly squares-everyone loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I tried this recipe for the first time last weekend. I used a jar of homemade peach jam (given to us by my husband's grandma). I don't know why but as I was making it - I just didn't have high expectations. I figured most of it would go to waste since my husband isn't a big oatmeal fan. I was pleasantly surprised! My husband and I both LOVED it. After he took his first bite - he asked me to make it again - so we wouldn't run out. His only complaint is that we didn't have any vanilla ice cream to go with it. (He stopped at the store the very next day to get some). We've been reheating the bars in the microwave and then serving it with ice cream all week. My only complaint is that I've gained 10 pounds...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
We LOVE these!! I find that 1 cup of fruit preserves is better then 3/4 cup and most of the time I do half strawberry or raspberry (my favorite) and half apricot or peach (dh's favorite).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Maine, USA
Living In: Laconia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
These are a delicious healthy snack..... I used all applesauce in place of the butter. It makes a soft bottom crust, then i mixed 1 - 1 1/2 cups more oats into the remainder of the mix, to make it more crumbly for the top. I used rasperry jam. They're just the right amount of sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Very good, my family loved them! I used Raspberry jelly. Was thinking that natural peanut butter and jelly would be good to try next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Very tasty, and about as easy as one can get. These can be used as a cookie, or as a dessert with a puff of whipped cream or a curl or two of ice cream. Used 3/4 cup of butter, and to cut down on the "sweet" overload, used fruit spread rather than preserves. Apricot and cherry were winners at my church lunch! Will try it with the applesauce to see if that works....saving a few calories, maybe. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I wanted something sweet and had limited ingredients available, but everything I needed to make these. They're very easy to make and result in a very good bar. I took the advice to reserve less for topping and use more in the base. I also used more preserves than it calls for. I wanted to know the preserves were there, not just get a hint of them. I used strawberry because it was all I had enough of, and I used pecans because they were what I had. I would make these again if I wanted a good cookie in a hurry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I have made this recipe twice in one weekend. It is very good. Here are some tips. Use the 9 X 13 pan but you will need to reserve only about 3/4 C of crumb mixture- otherwise there won't be enough to pack into the pan. I reserved all of the walnuts for the topping. I added 1 TSP of Vanilla and subbed nutmeg for cinnamon. Oh one more thing... I used half a jar of jam for each batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I could eat a million of these and never get sick of them. Not to mention, by simply switching the jam, its a completely dessert. If you're really feeling bold, mix up a few different flavors of Jam in one batch and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chappaqua, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States