Oatmeal Jam Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Just made this for the first time and it was fantastic! I cut them while still warm in the middle and I have to say it was the best thing ive put in my mouth in a while. Thank you so much for sharing this. Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
These got eaten very quickly by my family and friends! I thought they were a touch on the sweet side, but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark & Amanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Very good! I cut it while it was warm but left it in the pan and let it firm up in the freezer, it cut into squares pretty easily after that. I had my heart set on making these but all I had was a half stick of butter so I cut the recipe in half and made it in an 8 by 8 inch pan. Next time I'll make the full batch:) This may sound weird but I think I'll try it with marmalade in the middle next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I omitted the nuts and used more oats (one person these were being served to has a nut allergy) and used blackberry jam. I wanted to jazz them up a bit so I made a simple confectioner's sugar glaze with lemon juice and a little of the same jam used in the filling once they were completely cooled. So quick and easy---delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I made some jam last year that the kids just did not want to eat. It had a flavor like apple butter, but was made from a combination of apples and end-of-season green tomatoes and I guess it was just asking too much to insist that we finish it before opening other jams I'd made. They pretty much stopped eating jam. Sigh... Made this recipe using the homemade green tomato jam and the whole concoction was awesome and devoured. I have two more jars of the stuff and will definitely make this again. It often makes me crazy when people don't make a recipe exactly as directed, then review it…but I made a couple of changes that may have detracted from the results - but not the flavor - and I wanted to share them. I increased the recipe to 1.5 times the original and baked it in a jelly roll pan because I wanted to use more jam : ) I probably let the butter soften way too long as the mixture was really goopy. Or, maybe it was that I did as another reviewer suggested and put all the walnuts in the top portion of the mixture? Anyway, I just used a fork to spread the mixture over the bottom of the jelly roll pan, spread the layer of jam, then dropped the remaining mixture in small spoonfuls across the top of the thing. It worked out fine. The recipe is pretty sweet for my taste, but I had absolutely no complaints from the kids or anyone else. It was so good that I served it for dessert to friends who came over for dinner. With a small scoop of vanilla ice cream it gets even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Excellent! love the toasty crunchiness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I love a bar cookie recipe, because I don't have to be a slave to the oven all day. Just tried these for the first time and I think we have a winner. So easy to make and they were delicious. Here's a tip for those of you who think they are too crumbly, press the bottom layer into the pan firmly before spreading the preserves on top. I think you need to set the cookie for it not to crumble. I used apricot preserves. I'm looking forward to trying other flavors. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Pera Reznik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
They were okay. Nothing special, and pretty dry and crumbly. Tasty enough, but not enough to tempt me off my diet, which is saying something because I'm practically starving right now and everything looks amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I hadn't made these for years! I used blueberry jam with blueberry chunks in and they are delicious. 18 minutes was almost too much. 16 minutes would probably have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I made these plenty of times and they are awesome. When we get asked to parties these are asked to be made every time ! Strawberry jam is the best for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States