Oatmeal Gingersnaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
WOW! These are great cookies! Just out of the oven and delicious. I didn't have an egg, so I substituted a small jar of baby food...I might make them like this again even when I have all of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Very easy to make. Agree with only baking 9 minutes-came out perfectly. I added a full cup of oatmeal and while slightly more crumbly still turned out well. Additionally would suggest creaming the shortening with the molasses first and then mixing in the egg. Was too lumpy doing all together. Rave reviews from family and friends, definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rossford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Ok I mostly just lurk this site. BUT wow these are great cookies, I used Butter instead of shortening and brown sugar I creamed the sugar with the butter, egg and molasses. Added more ginger and cloves and baked 10-12 min depending on the cookie sheet I used, they came out crisp and chewy in the middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Made these last night and absolutely fell in love. The spice is perfect, and is nicely balanced with the oatmeal texture. In my first batch, I doubled all of the ingredients to make closer to 4 dozen, and I found the dough was a little too floury and crumbled easily. I added an extra egg (3 eggs in the double recipe) and it turned out great. My second batch I did to the recipe except using ~1.5 eggs, and the cookies turned out flatter and chewier (dough was stickier and less floury), which are also tasty. I rolled the dough balls in a mixture of white sugar, raw sugar (large crystal cane sugar) and cinnamon. Gives a nice crunch on the outside of the cookie :) I also didn't press them down at all, just left them as balls, and both batches turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Really nice and easy recipe! I used maple syrup in place of molasses (didn't have any) and they came out nice and chewy. I will add a tad more spice next time I make these and maybe some cinnamon. I made these with a thermos of hot chocolate to go view Christmas lights with the family. Definitely tasted like the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I had had these at 4stars, but letting them sit for a night made them become 5 star cookies. They tasted rather floury straight out of the oven, and I felt that maybe they had needed more spices, but the extra time got it to the taste you think of for gingerbread. I added a little garam masala, cinnamon and ginger to the sugar I rolled the next batch in, and wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Loved this recipe. Had my own long-time favorite version, thicker and chewier but have somehow lost it so have been searching for another. This is thinner, but still really delicious. I only slightly pressed down on the cookie balls as I like a thicker version. Given this I would caution re the shorter baking time. Still too doughy at 10 minutes. My oven is pretty good, but I needed more like 13-14 minutes. Turned out slightly crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside. My family ate the whole batch in two days. Making another now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I made this recipe awhile ago. I did use margerine instead of the shortening. I slightly underbaked them and they came out lovely. Unfortunately when i placed the cookies in a covered container they got too soft and stuck to each other.. oh well they were still delicious and i will definately make again the spicing was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Absolutely wonderful.So delicious. Can't wait to make them again. I like a chewy cookie, so I didn't flatten with glass bottom, just pressed gently with my fingers for a flatter top. Came out beautifully. Crunchy at the sides. Lovely and soft in the middle. Would like them to have a darker colour and more ginger. I think when next I make them, I will try a touch more molasses and heaps more spice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JaneDough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morne Jaloux, Saint George, Grenada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
love these gingersnaps, especially with the added health benefit of oatmeal. a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States