Oatmeal Gems Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Tasted good - I goofed on the Recipe and used steel cut oats though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Mine, too, came out as balls. I made the recipe exactly as written. They are not soft and chewy as I was hoping for, more like soft, a litttle fluffy and sort of dry (even though they were baked to just golden brown on the edges and bottom. To it's credit, the plumpled raisins were much better than firm raisins. With all the thousands of cookie recipes out there, I will try a different recipe next time I want cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Very, very good ! I made it without nuts this time. Next time, and that will be soon, I will add walnuts. This recipe ended up making over 6 dozen. They are "Gems" !! Crispy outside, soft inside. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dannf2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
These are nice, soft, delicious cookies. If you're looking for a crispy cookie, look elsewhere. This dough keeps well in the refrigerator. When I baked another try a few days later, my cookies were much thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Next time I would use less clove, less raisins and more nuts. They are really good except after making them I decided I wanted crispy cookies this time, but that of course has nothing to do with the recipe, and I didn’t like the strong taste of clove. Oh, I also added some white chocolate chips. Will definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kfar Saba, Mehoz Hamerkaz, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
these are excellent. so soft and cnewy with the plumpest raisins i've ever tasted. it's the boiling of the raisins that gets them this way. I added nutmeg as well and in place of cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia the Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Not bad! Used applesauce for shortening, egg sub + egg whites for eggs, omitted pecans. Compared to other cookie recipes I've tried, this one was a lot of hassle for a taste that was good, but not great. I didn't have any ground cloves, so I had to mash whole cloves myself. I only used about 1/2 tsp of cloves, and I personally thought they were a little overpowering. I think the raisin juice was a good idea, and improved the flavor. I think the next time I make oatmeal raisin cookies I'll use part of this recipe and part of another. If you have time and you don't mind cleaning up the kitchen, and you liek chewy, sweet-spicy cookies, then these are definitely for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
Ooooops! Threw out the raisin water while I was cleaning up, but substituted cold hazelnut coffee for the liquid! Absolutely delicious cookies, great recipe, will make again very soon!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Very great cookie, i left out the nuts and added a mooshed mediem banana instead really great, so far a fav :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
This had to be the best oatmeal cookie recipe I found yet. I made this for my family and my husband took about 2 dz to work and I guess they were gone by break time. I've had many requests for this now. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States