Oatmeal Gems Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
WOW! My mom and I made this cookie tonight, as we were looking for a raisin oatmeal cookie that wasn't so...bland. This recipe is FABULOUS!! Soaking the raisins makes them plump and soft (and not so raisin-like) and the cinnamon adds a great kick. We also added half a bag of Hershey's Cinnamon Chips to the mix and oh my goodness. You MUST try it. I think we have a new favorite cookie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
This cookie reminded me of some my mother made called Oatmeal Rocks. They stay in a mounded shape and don't get real brown. They are softer than the ones my mother made and I like a soft cookie. I would make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2000
This is a Great Recipe,they are very moist and chewy, and the taste is just right!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
My entire family loved these cookies. The only change I made was to omit the nuts. They are soft, chewy and full of flavor due to the cloves. This will certainly be a favorite cookie for years to come. My father-in-law instantly requested the recipe when he bit into one. Thank you for sharing Martha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Mine, too, came out as balls. I made the recipe exactly as written. They are not soft and chewy as I was hoping for, more like soft, a litttle fluffy and sort of dry (even though they were baked to just golden brown on the edges and bottom. To it's credit, the plumpled raisins were much better than firm raisins. With all the thousands of cookie recipes out there, I will try a different recipe next time I want cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
these are excellent. so soft and cnewy with the plumpest raisins i've ever tasted. it's the boiling of the raisins that gets them this way. I added nutmeg as well and in place of cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia the Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
Ooooops! Threw out the raisin water while I was cleaning up, but substituted cold hazelnut coffee for the liquid! Absolutely delicious cookies, great recipe, will make again very soon!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
Very great cookie, i left out the nuts and added a mooshed mediem banana instead really great, so far a fav :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
These are nice, soft, delicious cookies. If you're looking for a crispy cookie, look elsewhere. This dough keeps well in the refrigerator. When I baked another try a few days later, my cookies were much thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
Next time I would use less clove, less raisins and more nuts. They are really good except after making them I decided I wanted crispy cookies this time, but that of course has nothing to do with the recipe, and I didn’t like the strong taste of clove. Oh, I also added some white chocolate chips. Will definitely try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kfar Saba, Mehoz Hamerkaz, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States