Oatmeal Dried Fruit Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I tried it with dried cherries, chopped; added chocolate chips and some toasted coconut that my husband had left over from muffin baking. Salt and sugar was balanced well but I'd use a little less nutmeg because its a strong spice. The mix wasn't dry at all, I think the other reviews must not have put the right amount of butter or they didn't gradually at dry ingredients because I found it very creamy. Will definatley try again and add nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Great Recipe! Reading the review complaints about dough being dry and hard to handle, you must have done something wrong, this recipe is perfect, try them again and put on your glasses:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Yummy! Very moist! Used my stand mixer and didn't overmix. Add both dried fruit and chocolate chips. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I made these for Easter, and instead of using dried fruit, I used Jordan almonds from my local candy shoppe, which are almonds with pastel colored candy coatings. Also, I just made them last week with dried strawberries, white chocolate chips, and strawberry extract instead of the vanilla. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Oh boy! These are great! Bursting with flavor, chewey & yum! I doubled the recipie and ran out of butter so used 1C butter & 1 1/2 C butter flavor shortening. Added cranberries & walnuts and just realized that I forgot the vanilla! Still! they were great! Don't listen to the dry reviews below, don't know what they'er talking about! Will absoulutly be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This is the best oatmeal cookie I've ever eaten - no contest! I used a dried berry mix (cherries, blueberries & raspberries) for the fruit, and was generous with the spices. Otherwise, exact quantities. I did not find the batter dry at all - I used a Kenmore stand mixer and was careful to add everything in slowly and mixed extensively. The butter was softened too, which may be the key. These cookies, fresh out of the oven, are unbelievably good - just the right amount of salt, chewy but not gluey, melt in your mouth. The only real change was that mine had to bake for an extra 5 minutes or so (15 total), but keep a close eye - these would not be nice over-done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
have made these over and over and will continue to make them. everyone loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail G Sousa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I absolutely loved this recipe!!! I substituted the cup of dried cranberries with dried blueberries and mixed fruit and added a quarter cup of sour cream. This is one of the best cookies I have ever eaten, and my whole family agrees!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverton, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sheenagayle
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This is a lovely easy recipe. I used a dried fruit and nut mixture that I had in the pantry and it turned out really well. The mixture was a little dry - it couldn't be "dropped" onto the tray, it had to be rolled into little balls by hand. The finished cookies were tasty, although perhaps I should have flattened them out a little before baking. See the picture above to see what I mean. I recommend these cookies as I think they would be deliciious with other additions as already mentioned in other reviews, such as chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Best oatmeal cookies ever! Used a dried berry mix sample from nutsonline.com that had strawberries, blacberries & blueberries. Added dried apples, dates and raisins to complete the 1 cup called for. Added dry ingredients very slowly & mixed thoroughly. The dough was perfect!! This one will become a new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States