Oatmeal Dried Fruit Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by sheenagayle
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This is a lovely easy recipe. I used a dried fruit and nut mixture that I had in the pantry and it turned out really well. The mixture was a little dry - it couldn't be "dropped" onto the tray, it had to be rolled into little balls by hand. The finished cookies were tasty, although perhaps I should have flattened them out a little before baking. See the picture above to see what I mean. I recommend these cookies as I think they would be deliciious with other additions as already mentioned in other reviews, such as chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I absolutely loved this recipe!!! I substituted the cup of dried cranberries with dried blueberries and mixed fruit and added a quarter cup of sour cream. This is one of the best cookies I have ever eaten, and my whole family agrees!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverton, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This is the best oatmeal cookie I've ever eaten - no contest! I used a dried berry mix (cherries, blueberries & raspberries) for the fruit, and was generous with the spices. Otherwise, exact quantities. I did not find the batter dry at all - I used a Kenmore stand mixer and was careful to add everything in slowly and mixed extensively. The butter was softened too, which may be the key. These cookies, fresh out of the oven, are unbelievably good - just the right amount of salt, chewy but not gluey, melt in your mouth. The only real change was that mine had to bake for an extra 5 minutes or so (15 total), but keep a close eye - these would not be nice over-done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I didnt find them dry at all. Very stick when rolling out, but led to a very moist tastey cookie. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
I found it too be a bit salt heavy and not very sweet. I used apricots. They are not too bad though. I promise we will eat them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
not a bad tasting cookie but i've had better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Oh boy! These are great! Bursting with flavor, chewey & yum! I doubled the recipie and ran out of butter so used 1C butter & 1 1/2 C butter flavor shortening. Added cranberries & walnuts and just realized that I forgot the vanilla! Still! they were great! Don't listen to the dry reviews below, don't know what they'er talking about! Will absoulutly be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
have made these over and over and will continue to make them. everyone loves them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail G Sousa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Yummy! Very moist! Used my stand mixer and didn't overmix. Add both dried fruit and chocolate chips. Terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Great Recipe! Reading the review complaints about dough being dry and hard to handle, you must have done something wrong, this recipe is perfect, try them again and put on your glasses:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States