Oatmeal Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Very nice rolls, and they bake up soft. I used 1 3/4 of wheat flour, subbing for that amount of white flour, then proceeded with the recipe as written. I used the bread machine for these and it worked very well. I thought they were a very light, sweet roll that were good with soup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
by far the most moist bun around can't put them down quick enough,perfect at a luck but be careful they may make others jealous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This is a real winner. However.......ain't NO way it will be ready in 1 hour! There are 2 risings, and a 10 minute resting in between which brings the time up closer to 3 hours. The texture and flavor are exceptional, just be aware that you need to allow extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Super good! Nothing left over after 1 meal. Kids ate them for breakfast too! No adjustments for high altitude..we're at 4500ft above sea level. Easy enough to make.. did take all afternoon. Made about 25 rolls. My hubby does'nt like dense bread, this wasn't the most lightest roll but still tolerable. He liked that it was slightly sweet. Thanks! Will make many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I made these using all wheat flour because I was out of white. I had been looking for a recipe I could use to make hamburger buns. I halved the recipe and used my bread maker to make the dough. I didn't cook the oats first, I put in the order suggested by another reviewer, oats, butter, water, flour, sugars, salt and yeast. When the dough was ready I made it into 8 rolls. I flattened the rolls and baked them on a cookie sheet when they had risen. I put butter on the tops as soon as I took them out of the oven so they wouldn't be crunchy. The bottoms were still a little firm, this is no fault of the recipe and as dinner rolls would probably be preferable. Next time rather than putting butter on them, they are so healthy otherwise, I am going to put them in a bag while they are still warm so the moisture will make them soft. I will repost if this works! We ate these with "Chris's Bay Area Burgers" and 'Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries" both from this site. We felt really good that we were eating healthier! I will be keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Bedfordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Angola, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Ready in one hour - no way! I didn't read the directions before starting, my bad, I just glanced at the top. It will take about 2 and a half hours all told. I'm so unhappy now, though, since my rolls won't be ready until an hour after dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Absolutely Delicious! Stays nice and moist for a few days! Everyone thinks I'm chef! I made them sandwich-sized and the flavor really contrasts nicely with any sort of sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
wonderful, and I can't bake. My kids devoured them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
These Are very god. Did substitute salt and sugar with half salt (R)and Splenda(R)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States