Oatmeal Dinner Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
Family really liked the rolls. Dough a little sticky but the flavor was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYINBLUE3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I give the rolls a 5 but I think I'd give the directions about a 3. First, if you use 4 cups of flour and mix it all with a mixer, you will end up with a very, very soft dough. Unless southern AP flour is a lot drier than northern AP flour, I'd guess you are going to add 3/4 to 1 1/2 extra cups of flour in the kneading process. I used my dough hook to knead, added 3/4 c. flour while kneading and still ended up with a very soft dough. (I love to knead by hand but this was just too soft and sticky). Second, I'm still not sure if I am reading the directions right but it looks like they are putting 16 rolls in each 9" cake pan. If so, your rolls will be very "squashed" I divided my dough in half and made one-half into dinner rolls. I started out with a 9" cake pan but they seemed too crowded so I switched them to an 11" diameter deep dish stoneware pizza pan and that was better. The rolls were delicious and the stone made them "crusty" but some of the rolls still seemed squashed. I used the other 1/2 of the dough to make 8 nice-sized raspberry cinnamon rolls -- yum. Moist and not too heavy. These rolls are heavier than my favorite dinner roll recipe but one of the big advantages is a fairly short first and second rise. I'll definitely keep the recipe handy and will experiment with pan sizes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Awesome recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cucina di papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Newton, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
My husband said, "You need to keep track of that recipe," after having these rolls with a steak supper last night! Because I live in the arid high desert, I use less flour in my breads, so it did not bother me that even after 4 cups of flour the dough was pretty sticky. I just floured up my hands really well before handling it. I made one loaf of bread and 8 dinner rolls with this recipe. The 8 rolls fit perfectly into a 9 1/2 inch pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
These rolls are absolutely fabulous. My family always requests them for holidays, they are almost as delicious as the dinner rolls my grams used to make. I find that they are tastiest if you add a couple extra tablespoons of brown sugar and when you mix the dough let it stay pretty sticky (it's tempting to want to keep adding flour) I have even used a large spoon to evenly drop the dough into the pans and they come out delicious and look nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I have been making these rolls for a few years now. They are by far the best. My family loves these and everywhere I take them I get requests for the recipe. The only thing I do differently is that I bake them on my 10x18 baking sheet. I get 30 nice size, beautiful rolls that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
so good and very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I have been making these rolls for 3 years now. They get better each time. I have passed the recipe on many times. Don't change a thing. They are moist and wonderful for days. Even my extended family who loves white bread enjoys these rolls. They are also very easy. It helps if you have a large stand mixer. The dough will be sticky when you take it out of the mixer. Just gently kneed in more flour. No need to try other roll recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
My dough was a bit sticky but these rolls turned out beautifully!! Extremely soft and moist with a great texture. I know I will be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Delicious. Excellent taste. I will definately make these again; everyone in my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States