Oatmeal-Currant Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
for those who cannot eat wheat, I alternated with some flax seed and rice flour and they still turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
These were good. Not too sweet, a great snack anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
I made these around the Holiday's and they were a big hit. My Husband ate them up before I could get my hands on a second one. I substituted the OJ for orange liquer since I had it on hand and next time I will use more and reduce the water. The mixture came together rather easily and I felt a bit less guilt knowing I used milk rather than cream as in most scone recipes. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
Great if made with sweetened cranberries instead of currants. I'd suggest going a little lighter on the oats and a bit heavier on the flour to make them a bit less crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
Added 2tsp. orange zest and substituted 1c. of the flour with white wheat flour. The scones were a little bit dry, but were nice and flaky and quite delicious with a bit of jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Very festive scone recipe! Simple to make, great texture and flavor. I added a cinnamon orange frosting that helped make them a wonderful breakfast holiday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
These were very delicious. I thought they were tender and I loved the pre-plumped fruit! I halved the recipe and used small cookie cutters. I also made the liqueur substitution. I didn't have currants so I used dried cherries instead and because I didn't have dairy milk I used soymilk which didn't change flavor or texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. I have used it many times, with many substitutes. Whenever I make it with substitutes (cranberry walnut, choc. chips, cinnamon raisin, etc.) I leave the currants and orange juice out of the recipe, and add what I want (and maybe a bit more sugar if necessary) and everything turns out great. The consistency of the dough ball isn't always the same, but the scones always turn out great. Oh, and I never grind the oats, and it seems to be just as well. Thank you, jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I has never baked scones before and started with this recipe..everyone in my family loved it. I did not get it into a good dough consistency but I just took the sticky mixture, made random shapes and baked it...turned out delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I used whole wheat flour instead of the white flour, and honey in place of the sugar. These are light and tasty! I also added some cinnamon, which meant that they smelled good, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States