Oatmeal-Currant Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. I have used it many times, with many substitutes. Whenever I make it with substitutes (cranberry walnut, choc. chips, cinnamon raisin, etc.) I leave the currants and orange juice out of the recipe, and add what I want (and maybe a bit more sugar if necessary) and everything turns out great. The consistency of the dough ball isn't always the same, but the scones always turn out great. Oh, and I never grind the oats, and it seems to be just as well. Thank you, jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
These were very delicious. I thought they were tender and I loved the pre-plumped fruit! I halved the recipe and used small cookie cutters. I also made the liqueur substitution. I didn't have currants so I used dried cherries instead and because I didn't have dairy milk I used soymilk which didn't change flavor or texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Very festive scone recipe! Simple to make, great texture and flavor. I added a cinnamon orange frosting that helped make them a wonderful breakfast holiday treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2004
Added 2tsp. orange zest and substituted 1c. of the flour with white wheat flour. The scones were a little bit dry, but were nice and flaky and quite delicious with a bit of jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2004
Great if made with sweetened cranberries instead of currants. I'd suggest going a little lighter on the oats and a bit heavier on the flour to make them a bit less crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
I made these around the Holiday's and they were a big hit. My Husband ate them up before I could get my hands on a second one. I substituted the OJ for orange liquer since I had it on hand and next time I will use more and reduce the water. The mixture came together rather easily and I felt a bit less guilt knowing I used milk rather than cream as in most scone recipes. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
These were good. Not too sweet, a great snack anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
for those who cannot eat wheat, I alternated with some flax seed and rice flour and they still turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States