Oatmeal-Currant Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Yum, very tender! I used 2 c whole wheat pastry flour and 1 c white flour for this recipe. I added walnuts. I followed the advice from another reviewer who noted that I don't need to grind the oats. These scones are not very sweet at all, so always include the currants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is a reliable and delicious recipe. I add chopped nuts and orange rind and I have sprinkled granulated sugar on top. I make the scone smaller than 1/16th of the dough - and I roll them relatively thin - but not too thin. I always use dried cranberries, and will try blueberries one of these days since I am from Maine! This is a delightful scone - not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These were super dry and boring. I used chocolate chips instead of the OJ/water/currant combination because another reviewer said she just switched out that ingredient easily, but the end result was pretty tasteless. I gave it two stars instead of only one because my allergy-ridden son enjoyed them, but he rarely is able to eat desserts, so he doesn't know what a scone is supposed to taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
We enjoyed these scones however they were not the best ones we have tried. I think that I would increase the sugar or use honey when I bake them again because they were not sweet at all. The dough was quite sticky and I was happy that I made them the night before I was to bake them so that they were able to set up again. They took 7 minutes longer in my oven but that may have been because I took them out of the fridge just before putting them in the oven. All in all it was a good basic recipe to build on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I made these for the first time the morning of a church bake sale. The scones were a hit and all of them sold. Being mindful of other reviewers' comments about the stickiness of the dough, I added a little less milk than called for and the resulting dough was easy enough to work with. I used 1/2 sweetened, dried cranberries and 1/2 chopped dried apricots instead of currents and used a wonderful whole cane sugar instead of white sugar. I also added a capful of orange extract and I used salted butter because it was what I had on hand and besides I like the flavor of a little salt in my baked goods. I cut them in slightly smaller scones and baked them for 15 minutes. I tend to like my scones on the less sweet side and I liked these, but they probably would have still been fine with another tablespoon of sugar. They were a tad dry, but maybe wouldn't have been if I'd used all the milk called for. Overall, a good recipe that I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: May 8, 2009
I honestly had no idea what to expect from scones. Despite having jumped the pond twice when I was younger, I never once tasted a scone, but always wanted to. The end result of this recipe was a batch of tender, tasty scones. I did have to modify the recipe, however. Made as stated, the dough would be impossible to form into a ball. It's far too soft, more like a batter. I added enough flour to make a soft dough, then formed it into two balls instead of one. I followed the directions from there, but did have to increase the baking time. If I make these again, I will form the dough into 4 balls and flatten to 3/4 inch or so to make smaller scones. Mine were quite large. They were a hit at work, served up with strawberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
These are quite light. Ours came out so sticky that we had to make "drop scones" but they were fine. I think it is better to overbake than underbake as the crispy outside is the best part! If using orange juice, I would also add a little more orange flavor with zest or extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I used whole wheat flour instead of the white flour, and honey in place of the sugar. These are light and tasty! I also added some cinnamon, which meant that they smelled good, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I has never baked scones before and started with this recipe..everyone in my family loved it. I did not get it into a good dough consistency but I just took the sticky mixture, made random shapes and baked it...turned out delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States