Oatmeal Crispies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Really not to my taste... didn't like the texture or taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Amazing. I followed the instructions exactly and I am so glad I did. The recipe makes 70 or so cookies and the kids and I may eat them all before dinner at the rate we are currently going.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
These were quite tasty & CRISPY. (I did flatten them to 1/4" thick using a greased spatula & baked them 12 minutes.) OK, all of you who said they came out chewy, admit you used margarine or butter instead of shortening. The reason it makes such a big difference is that margarine & butter have some water in them, and shortening doesn't. The exception is special European-style butter which has the water squeezed out so it cooks more predictably. You can find it at upscale supermarkets and gourmet stores. The only change I made was to add 2/3 cup of raisins. Unlike most cookie recipes, these did not come out too sweet for me using the full amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Just made these as directed. I used butter flavored Crisco for the shortening, but other than that, I followed the recipe. I cooked them for 10 minutes. The cookies weren't as crispy as some other recipes I have tried but they were still very delicious. Not sure if I had just left them in the oven another 2 or 3 minutes if that would have made a difference or not. Still a great recipe and I will keep this version as well as the other I have. Fantastic staple recipe. Could add coconut, raisins, toffee bits, or chocolate chips, or just leave them plain, depending on your mood. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I halved the recipe but kept the spices the same. The cookies taste AMAZING, but they didn't come out very crispy. I'm actually happy about that, but I do think that a recipe should deliver what is promised. I did not change the recipe at all, other than the spices. WILL make these again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sydney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Followed recipe. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by daidai
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Great recipe! I liked them better without flattening them, which resulted in a puffy-looking cookie, which I like. I've subbed margarine and butter for the shortening before. If you like chewy cookies, I would keep them in the oven until they turn slightly brown in only the edges. I also would suggest NOT adding chocolate chips - they interfere too much with the cinnamon-oat combination. These taste fantastic freshly baked, not so great the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is a very good recipe. My Dad likes a crunch cookie, so I leave them in the oven a couple more minutes. I have used both instant and regular oats with good results both ways. They are also good with pecans, raisins or dried cranberries added. Thanks for posting this easy and good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
The flavor of these cookies is incredibly good, but they turned out chewy for me, not crispy. March 12, 2009 edit - I had to come back and tell all why my cookies turned out chewy. It was my sweetener. Since I'm type 2 diabetic and fructose doesn't raise my blood sugar, I use it. And it's the reason the cookies were chewy. I made some with regular granulated sugar and they turned out VERY crispy and very tasty. My husband loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mabank, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States