Oatmeal Craisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I took the advice to add 1c oats, 2 tsp cinnamon, & to use 2c craisins rather than a mix with raisins. These are delicious! Very flavorful, great texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Sweeney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
So far these are the best oatmeal raisin cookies i've made. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and they came out great but I found that I had to reduce the cooking time by at least 2 minutes or else they would come out hard. The second time I baked these cookies I used half butter and half butter flavored shortening and they were just as tasty. I would recommend reducing the cooking time by 2 minutes if you want a softer cookie. They might look like they're not quite done but that's fine. When they cool down they will be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Great recipe! I made several changes based on what I had on hand. I used 5 ounces of dried cherries, 1 cup of chopped pecans, 1/2 cup of white chocolate, the instant oats were whole grain, I substituted 1/2 cup of wheat flour for the all purpose. I baked a few with using the spoon method and a few using the "make into a ball and flatten a bit" method. I prefer to make them into balls (1 - 1.5inch) and flatten a bit. They cook evenly. HOWEVER if you prefer a bit raw in the middle and crispy edges, definitely just spoon onto cookie pan. Either way, these cookies were scrumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I increased brown sugar to 1 and 1/2 cups and decreased white sugar to 1/2. Subbed almond extract for vanilla and also added 1 cup chocolate chips. Cookies were crisp and chewy and had a festive look with chips and cranberries for Christmas. Also made cookies a bit larger and decreased cook temp to 325 and extended time a few minutes. Excellent flavor and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeffdhusker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
These are the BEST! Nice and chewy.Not too sweet either. The men of the house devoured them. Made them exactly as recipe EXCEPT rolled the dough in bowl with sugar and nutmeg before baking for extra spice. Great Cookie & keeps well (if you hide them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neptune Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Added extra oats and a dash of cinnamon. Left out the raisins but added more craisins. Also, used splenda brown sugar 1/2 cup and only 3/4 cup sugar. My son is diabetic so I like to reduce sugar when I can. They tasted plenty sweet, now if I could just only eat 2 instead of 4 at one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly except I used margarine instead of butter and my cookies melted while they were baking! They ended up as blobs of messy,sticky raisins and cranberries in sugar and oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
The base alone for these cookies is fantastic, so adding in the craisins and white chocolate chips (in the place of raisins) made for a delicious final product. Also, I added in 2/3 cup of both add-ins because 1 cup seemed excessive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
FINALLY!!! A decent cookie! I just ate 4 of these...conclusion...out of this world!! These are to die for! Very, very pleased with this recipe. I have a huge bag of craisins and had no idea what to do with them, made orange bread with craisins, had to put that in the dumpster..yuck..anyway..they will not go to waste now. Thanks so very much for sharing this wonderful recipe with us!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
These cookies were great. I didn;t have any raisins in the house, so I subbed in chopped dates and also added some chopped pecans. Delicious. Definitely will use this recipe many times!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States