Oatmeal-Cinnamon Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I made this with minor adjustments - I only had half the buttermilk, so I used half buttermilk, half soy milk; I used half whole-wheat flour, half all purpose flour; I added blueberries as well. The muffins turned out great! Nice and moist:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This cupcake is kinda chewy and flavorless. I was mad that I had to put a lot of work into nothing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I followed recipe but they are dense, not fluffy-won't make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Buttermilk powder, oil/fat & other fixes, read this! These are tasty muffins when you make some changes to the recipe. First, few people have butter milk and it’s hard to get real butter milk. Even with real buttermilk there is an insufficient amount of oil in these muffins and the default recipe is only really good when both the muffins are still warm and butter is applied. I recommend butter milk powder over regular liquid buttermilk as it does not expire and it is easy to find the powder. To substitute buttermilk powder add 4 tablespoons of buttermilk powder, ¾ of a cup of milk and ¼ of a cup of vegetable oil. I would recommend the ¼ cup of oil even if you use real buttermilk as these are dry otherwise. The default recipe is also very sort on cinnamon. When cinnamon is mixed in with the flour the tasted is reduced greatly compared to being a topping or filling. I have made this recipe with as much as a full tablespoon of cinnamon and not found it that strong. I would encourage you to at least double the default teaspoon. Final note the recipe seems a bit heavy handed with leavening agents. It would be worth trying this minus a ½ teaspoon of the baking powder. I have not tested this yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Giving this 4 stars because the recipe had most of the things I wanted: lighter texture, beautiful muffin shape, healthier ingredients (I subbed 1/2 c flour for whole wheat and added some flax seeds). All in all an excellent base. I found them a little bland, however...def. needs fruit/grated veg to impart flavour. I'll be making these again, just not "plain." No troubles removing from muffin pan at all, BTW. I used nonstick spray, came out beautifully! Oh, and they only cooked for 15 mins til done in my oven, so check them early!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
What a fun recipe! This recipe is perfect as it stands, but if you are like me, part of the joy and adventure in baking is experimenting and adding one's personal touch; and this recipe lends itself well to such experimenting. My 'experiment' was a smashing success! I doubled the recipe and substitued 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 plain (as recommending if substituting whole wheat flour for plain flour in a recipe.) I had planned to add raisins but saw two bananas that were overripe, so I mashed them up and added to the recipe (I also added 1 Tbsp. oil and vanilla flavoring as recommended by other reviewers.) While the first batch of muffins was baking, I noticed another half banana that had been ovelooked, so I finely diced it and added to the remaining batter. The muffins with the diced banana were my favorite. There were actually little bits of banana in each muffin. I recommend doubling the recipe for two reasons: (1) they won't last long; and (2) I want to freeze remaining muffins. Freezing will intensify the flavor. I can hardly wait to warn a frozen one in a few days. Have fun with this recipe! And a big THANK YOU to Coleen Roberts for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
These are awesome!! Based on others experiences I decided to add to the eggs 1 TBSP of oil to keep the muffins more moist so they wouldn't stick to the paper and it worked great. I added shredded coconut and dried cherries. These are fantastic! Making a second batch of raisin coconut as I type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
i found this recipe easy,yummy and healthy!my 8 year old did all the baking and loved the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I had planned on making this recipe a spice cake kind of muffin--and I'm glad I did. I think as is, it might not have worked out as well only because the batter is SO thick. I just kind of threw things in; 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce, cup or so of chopped zucchini, half cup or so of chopped carrot, half cup or so of raisins. I also upped the baking soda to a full teaspoon, added a teaspoon of baking powder, a teaspoon of vanilla and a half teaspoon of nutmeg. Another reviewer had mentioned that they had some issues with the muffins sticking to the tins so I was liberal with the non-stick spray. I baked mine at 350* for 20 minutes. These were very moist, chewy and very good. I think this is a wonderful base for you to add whatever fruit/veggies you have on hand to make it personal for your family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I thought these were vary good! I used Vanilla milk (instead of buttermilk) and really cut the sugar back. I added an apple sauce as I only had one banana. They turned out really nice. :) Will make them again. They are a great recipe t build on and add to I find. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States