Oatmeal Chocolate Goodness Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Yum - I think I'd cut the chocolate by half next time. I like my chocolate but it's a lot. It didn't quite temper so it's sort of like gooey frosting, but it's delicious. I think these would be great with some peanut butter or peanut butter chips in them. Or maybe peanut butter chips swirled with melted chocolate chips for the topping. Really good overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This cookie bar was too much. I had to put the chocolate in the refrigerator to set up and the cookie part was too "cakey" for my taste. Not a bad recipe, but I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I added 1/2 cup cocoa to the batter and 1.5T oil. Batter was still a bit dry and sticky;hard to work with. Finished product is like a brownie with oatmeal, just not super moist. Satisfied my chocolate graving, just don't like dealing with the sticky batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I found these rather dry - possibly because I used oil instead of marg., but my family loved them. Next time I think I'd use only two cups of oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Exellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Surbeck Carossino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoquiam, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
This was OK but we probably won't make again. I sprinkled the chips over top right after it came out of the oven and covered with a cookie sheet until they had melted, then used a spatula to frost. Had to refrigerated to cut easily but the oatmeal part wasn't great when it was cool. Not a BAD recipe, just don't know if it's worth a repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
These cookies were delicious and relatively easy to make. I melted the chocolate in the microwave and spread it over the cookies as soon as they came out of the oven. They took a long time to cool enough to cut, but they were worth the wait. Next time I would cool them in the freezer if I was pressed for time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
This recipe ROCKS! There's just something about chocolate and cinnamon...mmmm! The only thing that I do differently, is instead of bothering with melting the chocolate in a container, I just sprinkle the top of the pan with the chips and put the pan back into the oven for a minute or two until the chips are spreadable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
This got great reviews from my friends; however, the chocolate was too messy. I had to refridgerate it in order to cut the cookie into bars. Unfortunately, because it was a very hot weekend I had to put the left overs in the refrigerator and the cookie becomes stale, not to mention that chocolate should not be refridgerated. I'll try this again, only next time I'll stir the chocolate chips into the batter before baking and not on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

St. Patrick's Chocolate & Mint Cheesecake Bars

Green minty cheesecake brownies are festive for St. Patrick’s Day.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States