Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
this recipe brought back a lot of memories. My mom and I used to make them so often. I always added a bit more coconut. We boiled the milk, butter and sugar for 2 minutes. Let it come to a good rolling boil. We stop making them like cookies and just put them in a pan 13X9 makes a thin later. Just another reason to have an extra guilt free piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I couldn't find my copy of this so I came here and--tada!--found it. My mom makes these exactly like this except that we always add a tiny bit of vanilla and use margarine vs butter. Otherwise, easy and foolproof...definitely better made a day ahead and refrigerated overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fujimoto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I cut this recipe in half. I dropped them in small 2-3 bite sizes and still had 31 of them! This cookie is similar to the no-bake kind with peanut butter in them, but I like them precisely because they aren't made with peanut butter. The coconut flavor really shines in this easy, easy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
we used 1.5 cups of chocolate chips instead of cocoa, turned out great!! with a much more chocolate taste!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katt Meagher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
I made them just as the recipe said to and my husband actually walked me threw it as he remembered making them growing up, you have to let the mixer sit a few mins in the mixing bowl to cool after mixing it all together before you start spooning them into a wax sheet (I use tin foil) and they turn out perfect everytime, the cooling allows the mixer to hold its form when you spoon into the size of macaroon you wish to make , my hubby is the only one that eats them because I can't eat cocanut and they don't even last 2 days so I couldn't imagine only making half a batch at a time, I'd be doing these every other day for him lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmonte86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Best recipe ever. The kids really enjoyed them as afternoon snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Made some modifications, so that recipe is dairy free. Swapped milk for coconut milk and butter for sunflower oil. Added cinnamon, reduced sugar and added a little honey and a mashed banana and raisins. Also really good without the cocoa powder. Easy, fast and tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I used the suggestion about using 3/4 cup of semisweet chocolate morsels instead of the cocoa. 1.5 cup of oatmeal and 3 cups shredded coconut. It made 33 large mounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGICMYSTERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
I made a dairy free version which turned out delicious! I boiled 1/2 cup margarine with 1/2 cup soy milk and 1.5 cups sugar till it frothed up. Melted in 1.5 cups choc. chips then added 1.5 cups coconut and 3 cups quick oats. It was a perfect consistency and as it cooled it even became doughy enough to mold into any shape I wanted. I put mine in mini muffin cups, looked so cute and made a tonne! So glad to have found a good use for all the coconut and oats in my pantry! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
it's great but even better I add 1 cup of sugar crisp cereal and cut out 1 cup of oats.. The crunch is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Leblanc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States