Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Macaroons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Best recipe ever. The kids really enjoyed them as afternoon snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
it's great but even better I add 1 cup of sugar crisp cereal and cut out 1 cup of oats.. The crunch is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Leblanc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I made this, three things I changed: after you bring butter, sugar and milk to a boil turn the heat down low and add the coconut to soften it up. Also if u can use coconut oil not butter, so much tastier and add a tablespoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
My daughter and I made these cookies tonight and like a few others mentioned, the recipe needs revised! We improvised and added 2 more cups of oatmeal and 2 more cups of coconut! And a splash of vanilla. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I couldn't find my copy of this so I came here and--tada!--found it. My mom makes these exactly like this except that we always add a tiny bit of vanilla and use margarine vs butter. Otherwise, easy and foolproof...definitely better made a day ahead and refrigerated overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fujimoto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
My recipe I used for years is exactly the same but calls for 3 cups of rolled oats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
The recipe turned out really good. On a hot day when you are looking for a nice chocolate fix, these fit the bill. I too added 1.5 cups of choc chips instead of the cocoa. I did not boil it for as long as I should have so it was still a little runny but I just threw in a handful of coconut and oatmeal to firm it up and it worked out great. Oh, I also cut the sugar in half since I used mostly sweetened coconut. In the end I ended up making 33 (med cookie scoops) cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I agree with some of the above reviews, that it seems to have a bit too much liquid, also it's a bit too sweet for my taste. So I think that adding a bit extra of oats should take care of both of those things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinhais, Paraná, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
try boiling the sugar, butter and milk for 1 full minute. This will make base thinker, not so much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Gates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
This was quite yummy! I substituted light coconut milk for regular milk,reduced the sugar by half, used unsweetened coconut flakes instead of shredded coconut, added extra oatmeal to make it more solid, and added cardamon, ground ginger, cinnamon, and nutmeg to taste. Very coconutty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Coconut Macaroons III

These award-winning macaroons are easy to make!

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States