Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I just made these cookies and they were soooo yummy, crunchy on the outside, chewy on the inside. I did make a few adjustments. I used self-rising flour and eliminated the baking soda & salt. I also only had white chocolate chips and not quite a cup. I used pecans and broke them up smaller than what they came in the package. I did use 1/4 cup less white sugar, b/c I used sweetened coconut. I also added a spiced blend from Pampered Chef, it had cinnamon, nutmeg, ground orange peel, clove and ginger. I used about a tablespoon. I put half the mixture in the refrigerator to make later, so wait to see how the chilled dough cooks up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chyan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
These are everything I love in a cookie. Crunchy outside, chewy inside. Lots of flavor with the coconut and chocolate and nice texture with the oatmeal. I made exactly as the recipe called for except I used LOL Margarine sticks as I prefer that over butter for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Awesome texture, great tasting cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
My oven is small so i had to make two batches. First batch at 190 degrees came out a bit burnt and hard, 2nd batch at 175 degrees was perfect. The taste of the cookies is awesome though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
One of the few recipes I've followed exactly as written and they turned out awesome! My Dad couldn't get enough of these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I made them exactly the way its written and they are delicious! A little crisp around the edges and nice and soft in the middle..will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
These cookies were AMAZING fresh out of the oven! they lasted for that day and tasted good the next day but unlike many cookie recipes these cookies did not get better with age after the second day although they still had good flavor, they were very hard and not good. a good make and serve in the same day recipe, not make a week ahead of time Christmas cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Perfect, as is! I err on the side of under-cooking... so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KevinBerry7406
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Great recipe! These were very yummy and a great mix between chewy and crispy. I only tweaked this slightly by lowering the temp to 350 degrees and omitting the nuts (I substituted 1/2 cup of chocolate chips and 1/2 cup of coconut to make up the difference). I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinBerry7406

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
THESE WERE AMAZING! When I told my boyfriend I was going to make oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, at first he was disappointed. He thinks I never make just plain ol' chocolate chip cookies, I always have to throw oats or peanut butter or something in there. Hey, I like to live on the edge! ;) He changed his mind when he got a taste! He loved them! Anyways, I halved the recipe since I was just making it for us two and I used a normal cookie scoop and it ended up making about a cookie sheet and a half worth when I spaced them an inch or so apart. THE ONLY CHANGES I MADE: No coconut, no walnuts. I also had read that they were too sweet, so I nixed the white sugar and added just a little bit more brown sugar. AMAZING COOKIES, SOFT, GREAT TEXTURE, TRY THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States