Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Delicious! We ate half and froze half--they were just as good reheated out of the freezer as they were out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
If you're looking for the perfect oatmeal choco chip cookie, look no further!! I have tried many recipes and finally found THE ONE! The only change I made was to use half quick oats, half large flake oats. I also ended up baking them for only 9 mins, because my oven is very hot. Thank you, Woody
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I was looking for a chewy oatmeal rasin cookie recipe but with an average of 5 stars I thought I'd give this recipe a try. The first thing I did was half the recipe. First substitution I made was 1 Tbsp. of butter pecan ice cream instead of the milk, because there was none in the house. Second substitution I made was a cup and a half of a mix of dried cranberries, rasins, and prunes, which I had soaked overnight in some spare pineapple juice I had from a container of fresh pineapple. I did add the alloted amount of nuts but used pecans instead of walnuts. I also used the salt and left out the coconut because I'm allergic to coconut. Also, since halved the recipe and the cookies don't spread much, I made flat discs, 2 dozen to a 9X11 pan and cooked them for 7-9 minutes keeping an eye on them past the 7 minute mark. They came out small delicious and chewy. I'm the type of person who likes to "play" with recipes, and I'm sure the original version is perfectly good but I wanted to keep a reminder to myself or others what I did while it was still fresh in my mind. Thank you Woody Broadhurst for sharing this lovely recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiechef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Ok, just made these (eating one now!).. They are incredible. I have an oatmeal raisin cookie addict for a fiancé and have had a hard time finding a truely chewy dough recipe... He took one bite and said "this is it!". I followed the recipe exactly, including allowing the butter to soften just by sitting on the counter. I substituted raisins for the chocolate chips, and added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp each nutmeg and ground cloves. If I could give more than 5 stars I would! They are outstanding. I baked mime for 11 minutes at 350, and they are really chewy as promised. Give them a try & you won't be disappointed. Oh, on a side note, I noticed a lot of reviewers saying that their dough was difficult to stir but I didn't encounter this problem at all. My cookies are a bit on the flat side, but it doesn't bother me at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mutchie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Makes a big batch. They are much better undercooked than overcooked, so when in doubt, err that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
This is a great recipe! I, too, made some slight alterations. I'm not a fan of coconut or walnuts, so I cut those out. I added a teaspoon of cinnamon. These also make great bars. I bake them for my husband and his co-workers and always get a great review!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Very good cookie. I reduced brown sugar to one cup, baked mine for 8 minutes. My picky boyfriend thought they were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
My boyfriend loves this recipe and so do I! As someone else mentioned, he loves crunchy cookies and I prefer soft ones, so this is a great way to compromise. I add a little extra coconut and cut down on chocolate chips but that's just my personal preference, nothing to do with the recipe. Also, I always have trouble with these sticking to the cookie sheet so I recommend letting them cool 2-3 minutes and removing them, even though they might seem soft, as long as they don't crumble apart anymore they'll be fine. Otherwise they get too tough and you will break most of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Our oven acts up at times, but even though one batch of cookies was slightly overcooked, they still managed to be chewy! This is a great recipe for fast, easy, and delicious cookies. I only used two cups of oats since the dough didn't seem able to encompass all of oats, chocolate chips, and coconut. It's a great combination of flavors. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anguye52

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I added 1 cup peanut butter chips and they turned out so delicious. I love how chewy they are :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ludington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 276) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States