Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by KevinBerry7406
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Great recipe! These were very yummy and a great mix between chewy and crispy. I only tweaked this slightly by lowering the temp to 350 degrees and omitting the nuts (I substituted 1/2 cup of chocolate chips and 1/2 cup of coconut to make up the difference). I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KevinBerry7406

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
THESE WERE AMAZING! When I told my boyfriend I was going to make oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, at first he was disappointed. He thinks I never make just plain ol' chocolate chip cookies, I always have to throw oats or peanut butter or something in there. Hey, I like to live on the edge! ;) He changed his mind when he got a taste! He loved them! Anyways, I halved the recipe since I was just making it for us two and I used a normal cookie scoop and it ended up making about a cookie sheet and a half worth when I spaced them an inch or so apart. THE ONLY CHANGES I MADE: No coconut, no walnuts. I also had read that they were too sweet, so I nixed the white sugar and added just a little bit more brown sugar. AMAZING COOKIES, SOFT, GREAT TEXTURE, TRY THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Webigail
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This recipe pretty much incorporates everything i really wanted in a cookie. I did make a couple changes. Instead of semi-sweet chocolate chips i used White Chocolate Chips (I don't really care for "chocolate" chips) and I used macadamia nuts. I also didn't have enough All-purpose flour on hand so i used Bread Flour. I refrigerated my dough for hours prior to use, but 20 minutes would be alright. My oven tends to cook a little fast so i decreased the temperature to 350 and baked them for 8 1/2 minutes on the middle shelf. They were wonderful. I'll have to make them again since my father in law decided to give us three contains of oats he no longer wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Just finished making one batch - very good but something is missing and I think maybe more coconut and/or use sweetened. The coconut flavor was missing and the chips took over. Mine baked for 12 mins as one suggested and that was perfect. I may have put too many chopped walnuts in but all in all they are very good. Plan to make a double batch next week and I'll do half/half of the coconut - half plain and half sweetened and see how that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
good, didnt stick together very good though. Should try refrig dough for a hour and cook on parchment paper. Cut each sugar down 1 cup brown, 1/4 white
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Great cookie. Will definitely make again. Didn't change a thing to the recipe but I found that 10 mins was too long for chewy cookies. 8 mins was more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Great cookies ! They are firm & stand up very well. Be careful not to over cook them, they will continue to brown a little even after they are removed from the oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pthor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VickiD58
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Easy to make, had some help from my 5 year old! I made a few modifications as didn't have enough oats and added less sugar and chocolate chips! My hubby's and kid loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Too dry! I did not overbake but still were very dry. I would try using about a cup less oatmeal if I try again. Disappointed especially after all the great reviews and expensive ingredients used. I make a lot of cookies and have a lot of experience but cant recommend these. I have had better. Too hard and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Loved it!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States