Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
These are delicious...I made them on the bigger side and baked a few minutes longer. Chewy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaclynn G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Perry Hall, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I am Woody and since I first posted this recipe I have made a few minor changes and would like to share them with you. Here the are: Add 1/2 cup more coconut Try using pecans, just a better tasting cookie Any flavor chip can be substituted Tips for a great cookie! In a large bowl, cream together the butter, brown sugar and white sugar until smooth. Slowly pour/mix in the beaten eggs , then stir in the milk and vanilla. Combine the flour, baking soda and salt; stir into the sugar mixture until well blended. Stir in oats, chocolate chips. walnuts and coconut until evenly distributed. Drop by rounded balls onto ungreased cookie sheet....See tip below! *** Bake 15 to 18 minutes on middle rack of oven for a chewy cookie.... See tip below! *** Cool for 1 minute on the cookie sheet and then remove to wire rack. Cool completely and then store in tightly sealed container. *** Use ice cream scoop slightly rounded to make 24 cookies. Making 24 is important......This will insure they will be nice and thick and stay chewy for days. *** Keep a second cookie pan cooled in the refrigerator and alternate between batches While cooking first batch, roll all of the remaining balls and keep them chilled as well. This will prevent your cookies from spreading out too much & becoming flat and crispy. Balls can be kept in the fridge for several days to be cooked later Rolled balls can also be wrapped in plastic and frozen to be later thawed in fridge .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
The greatest cookie of all time. Thanks Woody! My dad makes them several times a year. I always stand next to him when he cooks and I get anything that drops on the floor. He even gives me a big chunk when my brothers and sister are not watching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJ Daschound

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
These turned out great! I heavily modified it through to try to make it healthier. only used 1/4 c butter with 1/2 c applesauce, left out the 1/2 c white sugar, didn't use the salt, walnuts or chocolate chips. I also used ~2 tablespoons of unsweetened vanilla almond milk instead of regular milk and only used 1 cup of flour. oven at 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
people are simply crazy about these cookies! and they never disappoint you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sanjubakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
My partner and I LOVED these cookies. I took the advice of others and lowered the baking temp to 350. I also skimped a bit on the sugar. I added extra coconut because I like coconut. I replaced some of the regular flour with almond flour, because I had some on hand and thought it would be nice (it was). Skipped the nuts because I was out. Added a bit of cinnamon as someone had suggested. I will certainly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by link

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I just made these cookies and they were soooo yummy, crunchy on the outside, chewy on the inside. I did make a few adjustments. I used self-rising flour and eliminated the baking soda & salt. I also only had white chocolate chips and not quite a cup. I used pecans and broke them up smaller than what they came in the package. I did use 1/4 cup less white sugar, b/c I used sweetened coconut. I also added a spiced blend from Pampered Chef, it had cinnamon, nutmeg, ground orange peel, clove and ginger. I used about a tablespoon. I put half the mixture in the refrigerator to make later, so wait to see how the chilled dough cooks up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chyan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
These are everything I love in a cookie. Crunchy outside, chewy inside. Lots of flavor with the coconut and chocolate and nice texture with the oatmeal. I made exactly as the recipe called for except I used LOL Margarine sticks as I prefer that over butter for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Awesome texture, great tasting cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
My oven is small so i had to make two batches. First batch at 190 degrees came out a bit burnt and hard, 2nd batch at 175 degrees was perfect. The taste of the cookies is awesome though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States