Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
WOW WOW WOW! However, I did make a few changes--butter instead of shortening, two teaspoons of vanilla (added right with the eggs), and an extra cup of oatmeal. Absolutely chewy and delicious! I only cooked them for 10 min at 350, but left them on the trey for 5 min to firm up well. Thanks, even better then the oatmeal chocolate chip cookie recipe from Nestle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
487 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Gave it 4 stars cuz I had to change a few things to make it 5 (I hate it when people review a recipe and rate it based on what they changed! They're not rating that recipe anymore!) Don't listen to other reviews and substitute butter... you'll just have flatter cookies NOT tastier! I added 1/2 c. oats, 1 tsp. vanilla, 1 tsp. cinnamon, and halved the amount of salt...5 stars now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
339 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandmom26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: West Yarmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
Wonderful cookie! I made a few changes though, 1 1/2 cups of rolled oats, 1 tsp vanilla and you only need to bake them 7-10 minutes. A nice, soft/chewy cookie with wonderful texture from the oatmeal. My Kids and husband LOVED them. Thanks, Tammy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
I used half butter flavored shortening and half salted butter, cut the salt in the recipe in half, added a teaspoon of vanilla, and used mini-chips instead of full-sized chips (and I always use unbleached flour). This is the BEST cookie I have ever made! Cannot go wrong here! I made a full batch, cooked one sheet of cookies right away, took the rest of the dough, put half in a baggie in the fridge, then took the remainder and rolled it into a roll in wax paper and froze it wrapped in foil. We had fresh baked cookies for a week, it froze great! Make it ahead and freeze it for later! A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phaewryn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hardwick, Vermont, USA
Living In: Chester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
I have had this recipe for over 20 yrs. But mine calls for 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp of water. I also bake at 375 for 8-10 minutes and they turn out very chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
I used this recipe for my main ingredients but I did change a few things as people suggested. I used 1/2 cup shortening, 1/2 cup butter, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 1/2 cups oats and 1 1/2 cups of chocolate chips. I also changed the temperature to 325 degrees and cooked it for about 2 minutes longer and mine turned out AWESOME! I use a cooking stone (as I always do) and they cooked evenly and they were chewy and yummy. My husband and I ate all of them within 2 days. They were great the next day too. They had alot of chocolate in them, just as I like so if you don't like too much chocolate in it, I would use maybe 3/4 cup of chocolate instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Quite good. I put in a tsp of vanilla like other reviewers suggested, and replaced 1/2cup of shortening with butter. I also replaced 1/2 a cup of the white flour with whole wheat flour. You can't taste the whole wheat flour but it gives a nice speckled appearance to the cookie and another layer of texture... plus it's a good way to sneak some more whole grains into your kids, who think they are just getting chocolate chip cookies! Delicious and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joesgirljeri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
These cookies were great! I followed the recipe almost exactly, except I didn't put in a full two cups of chocolate chips because that seemed like too much, and I added a little vanilla. They were wonderful and all my friends loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2002
I thought this cookie was delicious! I didn't have enough chocolate chips so I added some chopped pecans - YUM! I also used unsalted butter instead of shortening and added about 1/2 teaspoon vanilla - because I love vanilla. The cookie was crisp on the edges and soft in the middle - just delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
FANTASTIC cookie! I followed the suggestions of SEETHING and I used half butter flavored shortening and half salted butter, cut the salt in the recipe in half, and added a teaspoon of vanilla. I froze 3/4 of the batter and have enjoyed fresh, hot cookies whenever. MUST bake these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States