Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I decided to follow the recipe the first time... and next time I think I will incorporate some of the suggestions. There weren't enough oats for my taste, next time it'll be 3 cups. I did cheat and add a tsp of vanilla, and glad that I did. The cookies were coming out a bit overdone on the outside and underdone on the inside at 9 minutes on 350F- after the first pan, I turned it down to 325F for 10-11mins and they came out much more even (but that could be my oven). I think some ground flax would be easily added, and minimally noticed. This recipe would also be great for other add-ins like dried cranberries, walnuts, butterscotch chips, or maybe some peanut butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katjeanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
Super amazing! The first time I made these it was strange, the dough wouldn't stay together. It was crumbly but this time perfect. Even though last batch still tasted amazing. I added a touch more shortening this time so it's not dry! Awesome. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Followed the recipe to a tee, just used unsalted butter for my preference, instead of shortening, which puts me off...If you take them out around 10 minutes, rather than 15, and let cool for the remaining 5 minutes on the tray, they are moist and delicious! And for all the people who say that they are too flat, get over it. Cookies are flat, cupcakes are puffy, if you don't like it, make a cupcake ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MustangFilly77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
these cookies came out fantastic! instead of 2 cups of oats and chips i used 1 cup. that was the only change. yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Great! I added a 3rd cup of oatmeal, as well as a generous handful of raisins and of nuts. And instead of chocolate chips I put in three 200g dark chocolate bars, chopped into chunks. Oh, and 2 tsps of vanilla too. Got so many compliments on these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I loved these! I did add vanilla and I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening for texture. My parents were visiting and raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoffeyND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
12 minute bake time better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
3/4 c unsalted butter, 1/4 c applesauce, 1/2 c packed brown sugar, 1/2 c white sugar, 2 eggs, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 1/2 c whole wheat flour, 1 tsp sea salt, 1 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp cinnamon, 2 1/2 c rolled oats, 1 c chocolate chips, 1/2 c walnuts (chopped). Combined in the usual order, baked at 350 for 12 minutes, tasty! (: I used applesauce in place of some of the butter to cut down on fat and cholesterol; it also tends to make them a bit fluffier, and since it's sweet I don't need to use as much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I recently had to unexpectedly teach a high school pastry class and decided to bake these without ever doing it on my own first. The kids were at first really reluctant to try their own creation based on the fact that they contained a "healthy" ingredient. After they got past the fact that there was oats in them they gobbled them up! They are awesome and I will forever now use this recipe in place of my standard Toll House one. The only adjustment that I might try in the future is to use 1/2 shortening and 1/2 butter. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States