Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
I make these JUST as the recipe calls for, out of respect for the person who wrote it. They are fantastic just the way they are! Because my oven is an older model and harder to regulate temp., I bake them for 13 minutes instead of 15 (found out after the first batch got a bit too brown!). Note after baking a dozen batches of these: I prefer the milk chocolate morsels in this cookie. They melt better and are silkier than semisweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I use butterinstead of shortening, but these are always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
This is a lovely cookie. It has a great texture. The only thing that's missing is a little flavor that the butter would give. I think I'll try half and half next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Wonderful chewy cookie. I used peanut butter chips, chocolate chips and butterscotch chips as I had a small amount of each. My family loved them made this way. I will continue to use this recipe for oatmeal cookies. Thanks Sheryl for a delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
My 5 yr. Old daughter & I made these today, and it was so delicious. I listened to other reviewers and added 2 teaspoon of vanilla, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, sub 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour in place of the 1/2 cup of white flour, 1/2 butter, 1/2 shortening and only added 1 1/2 cup of semi sweet chocolate chip. I also added 2 Tablespoon of wheat germ, baked for 11-12 minute turned out fabulous. I feel that at least there is something healthy in a chocolate chip cookies :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
These cookies were SO good!!!! I went with Islandmom26's changes... added 1 tsp of cinnamon, only 1/2 tsp of salt and added an extra 1/2 cup of oats... these were really yummy and a big hit with my picky kids! Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Great cookies. If you like toll house cookies, you should like these. The only change I made was to add a cup of chopped walnuts. I think if you preferred a richer cookie you could substitute a half cup of butter for a half cup of shortening but we liked them as is. The only problem is trying to stop eating them. Ah well, I’ll just suffer through it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Very good! I gave it 4 stars because I changed it a little. I halved the salt, used half shortening and half butter, used 1/2 cup white sugar instead of 3/4 and probably even could have used less. I added a tsp. of vanilla and used mini chocolate chips. Will def. make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I made exactly as written and they tasted just fine. I had problems with the amount of time stated to cook - my first batch were completely burned when I left them in the oven for the 15 minutes as stated. cut minutes with each additional batch and found that 11 minutes at 350 degrees worked best! I have never had this problem before, so I am sure it is not my oven. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
so yummmy! put butter in though instead of shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States