Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
To the person who leaves out salt, baking soda needs salt or the cookies will be flat. Do not over mix or they will be flat. Shortening makes them crispy. I cut out the white sugar, added another 1/2 cup oatmeal and use 1 cup whole wheat 1/2 cup white flour. Now they are a diabetic snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Nice crisp cookies. Next time I'll add the cinnamon and nutmeg as recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ltokarchuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Used two sticks of butter and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Delicious cookies! I gave it a 4 because I changed a couple of things, but it's a really great recipe. I reduced the sugar and did 3/4 brown and 1/4 white; I used butter instead of shortening; I also used 1 cup flour and 1/2 cup whole wheat flour; added 1 tbsp of water; and reduced the chocolate chips to 1 cup, and it turned out perfect. In the end I also did a couple of cookies with some raisins and cinnamon and it was great. Also left a bit more in the oven so they were crispy. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tati
Home Town: Rio De Janeiro, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Delicious!!!! My family loved them, asked to make this same recipe again next time. I only changed the shortening, I used a Crisco butter flavored baking stick instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
These were very tasty, however they are more chocolate chip cookies with some oats thrown in than oatmeal cookies. I made them as written, just slightly less shortening (which was good because even with a little less they were quite oily), and slightly fewer chocolate chips (again good because even with the amount I added, about one and a quarter cups, the chocolate completely overwhelmed the oatmeal). I did add some vanilla. Although I prefer the taste of butter, in this recipe using shortening didn't diminish the flavor. I baked on parchment paper which prevented the cookies from becoming as flat as some reviewers have complained of. While these were not the oatmeal cookies I'd been hoping for, they were delicious cookies nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sagamihara, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This is my husband specialty for years, and then I found it on here! It originally came from a restaurant in St. Louis, but don't remember which one. The one thing that they did different was grind the oats into powder. I did that today and left a few grains un-ground to keep it interesting. They turned out great! They were not flat, and were in fact fluffy and a little chewy. I agree with one reviewer that said to remove them a minute or two early. I removed them a minute early and let them continue to cook on the counter in the pan. Turned out perfect! Great recipe, don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Busy Bonnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This recipe reminds me of one i lost. The only thing missing was Cinnamon . I added a teaspoon of Cinnamon. Perfect!!! I also used real butter (always). Add teaspoon of vanilla too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A Patrick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Yum! These are great with tea and this recipe makes a lot of cookies so you can freeze them for later. I used butter instead of shortening and milk chocolate chips instead of the semisweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I added peanut butter chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States