Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I've made these before as written and they were good. I've since made some changes. I use half white and half wheat for the flour, splenda for the white sugar, I add cinnamon and vanilla, and even walnuts if I have them. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Robins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
These turned out great! I used 3/4 cup butter, half the salt and substituted 1/2 rice flour since we only had 1 cup of wheat flour. Also only used 1.5 cups chocolate chips. Yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Very good. Made it as written and was definitely too salty. Would cut that in half at least the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Excellent! The changes I made: 1/2 shortening, 1/2 butter. 1/2 chocolate chips, 1/2 cinnamon chips 1 tsp vanilla and a little shake of cinnamon into the mix! They came out incredibly! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I followed this recipe to the tee. Way too much salt! I would recomend cutting the salt in half. Other than that the cookie is perfect. This is my new staple cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
devouring a batch of these at the moment and they're delish! i subbed splenda for white sugar and didn't have enough chocolate chips, so i added raisins and walnuts to make up the difference. i also added 1tsp of vanilla, 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, and a tsp of nutmeg (i really like the chocolate/spice cookie combo). these cookies have great texture and depth of flavor with the additional spices and extract. plus they're super simple and the kids had a lot of fun helping make them. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Very simple & tastey recipe. I do make a few minor changes. (1) sub 1/2 cup softened butter and 1/2 cup shortening for 1 cup shortening; (2) Only 3/4 ts salt (b/c I used salted butter); (3) 1 ts vanilla. The cookies come out best when I refrigerate the dough first (b/c of the butter). I've made these 3x now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steger, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This has become my default chocolate cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jakubowski Matteson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lowville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Good, easy-to-follow recipe I did sub butter in place of the shortening however after making it and tasting it, seemed like the cookie was missing something? I didn't use the vanilla which might have been it and I kept the recipe at 2 whole cups of rolled oats so that the oatmeal flavor really stood out. I think next time I would add vanilla however a co-worker ate them and said they were the best cookies he's ever had so maybe I didn't need the vanilla after all :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghuff18

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
yum! i didn't have enough shortening, so I used 1/2 butter and added the 1 tsp of vanilla. These were great - a little flat but great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 617) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States