Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I substituted margarine for the shortening and coconut for the pecans. I thought they tasted pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
These were a hit! Made them for dessert when we had friends coming - wanted a variation on the typical chocolate chip cookie. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Patrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
These are okay. I might make them again someday since I always have the ingredients on hand, but I wasn't particularly impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
added coconut and reduced sugar. Also replaced 1/2 of butter with applesauce. Turned out great! Best after sitting for 1 day. I found the day I made them, they were a bit crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Everyone loved these, even picky non-oatmeal eaters. Used a mix of leftover chips: semi-sweet, butterscotch, milk. Butter - no shortening. Used sliced almonds in half/one side. Non-nut eaters didn't notice anyways...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Fantastic recipe! I used slow cooking oats....it was all I had, and used butter instead of shortening. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dbamed91

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Absolutely the best, and much quicker than cookies you have to drop by spoonfuls. What I do is make it up exactly as it says and use my spatula to spread evenly and compactly on my cookie sheet. I bake only for 17-18 minutes for a soft chewy cookie. If you bake much longer they have more of a hard granola bar texture and are drier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
These were tasty. I only changed up a few things because of what I had on hand, but I made sure not to truly compromise the recipe. I used butter instead of shortening, honey instead of molasses, and walnuts instead of pecans. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latty72
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
These were super easy and quick to make. Plus they were absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Great tasting easy snack! I added shredded coconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States