Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I substituted margarine for the shortening and coconut for the pecans. I thought they tasted pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
These were a hit! Made them for dessert when we had friends coming - wanted a variation on the typical chocolate chip cookie. This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Patrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
These are okay. I might make them again someday since I always have the ingredients on hand, but I wasn't particularly impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
added coconut and reduced sugar. Also replaced 1/2 of butter with applesauce. Turned out great! Best after sitting for 1 day. I found the day I made them, they were a bit crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Everyone loved these, even picky non-oatmeal eaters. Used a mix of leftover chips: semi-sweet, butterscotch, milk. Butter - no shortening. Used sliced almonds in half/one side. Non-nut eaters didn't notice anyways...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Fantastic recipe! I used slow cooking oats....it was all I had, and used butter instead of shortening. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dbamed91

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Absolutely the best, and much quicker than cookies you have to drop by spoonfuls. What I do is make it up exactly as it says and use my spatula to spread evenly and compactly on my cookie sheet. I bake only for 17-18 minutes for a soft chewy cookie. If you bake much longer they have more of a hard granola bar texture and are drier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
These were tasty. I only changed up a few things because of what I had on hand, but I made sure not to truly compromise the recipe. I used butter instead of shortening, honey instead of molasses, and walnuts instead of pecans. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latty72
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
These were super easy and quick to make. Plus they were absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Great tasting easy snack! I added shredded coconut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States