Oatmeal Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This recipes is similar to the one that my grandmother used to make. She used oil instead of butter and increased the amount of the flour and sugar and added some vanilla to her frosting. Both very similar with a few tweaks. The frositng is very sweet! Overall, very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
May not look great.. but man is it good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
As a young girl I loved oatmeal cake and have searched for years for a recipe similar to one my mom had in an old church group cookbook. This is it! Follow the recipe exactly and you won't be disappointed. My husband and step-son ate half the cake in one afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Duncan, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I have had this recipe for years although my recipe calls for the topping to be added after the cake has cooled and put it under the broiler for a few minutes until it browns and carmelizes. Everyone I know absolutely loves it, it is my husbands favorite cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Made this last night and I added a ripe banana as the only change. I was very surprised that my husband loved this cake. He as said that he has a new favorite cake. Thank you for this recipe. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I couldn't find my old recipe for the Oatmeal cake I used to make. I found this one and now I don't care if I find my old one. It was so moist and good. I took it to work and there wasn't hardly a crumb left when I brought my pan home. My husband loved it too. I also added 1teasoon of nutmeg. So Delilah!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
My children love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Very easy, delicious cake that can be dessert or a sweet breakfast. I halved it and baked in an 8x8 pan, and I used chopped almonds instead of walnuts in the topping since we don't like walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JEWELJETT
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I used regular milk instead of evaporated but otherwise made the recipe as written. I was a bit worried that the batter was too thick to 'pour' into the pan but it was better once the softened oats were added. This is Delicious... both warm with ice cream or cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEWELJETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States