Oatmeal Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
So good. I was looking for a recipe to use up some stuff I had in the cupboard and I just so happened to have almost all the ingredients. I didn't have the nuts that it called for but I used almonds instead and it tasted just fine. I particularly liked the topping after putting it under the broiler, nice and crusty top. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This was so delicious! I stuck to using the same ingredients as the recipe called for but reduced the sugar. The recipe calls for 3 cups but that seemed like a lot (personal preference.) I instead used 2/3 cups for both sugars in the cake batter and 2/3 cup of brown sugar for the brulee and ended up using only 2 cups in total. My sweet-toothed partner said that the sugar content was definitely not lacking. Evaporated milk or vanilla ice cream go quite nicely with the cake too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This recipes is similar to the one that my grandmother used to make. She used oil instead of butter and increased the amount of the flour and sugar and added some vanilla to her frosting. Both very similar with a few tweaks. The frositng is very sweet! Overall, very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NainInCandia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
May not look great.. but man is it good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
As a young girl I loved oatmeal cake and have searched for years for a recipe similar to one my mom had in an old church group cookbook. This is it! Follow the recipe exactly and you won't be disappointed. My husband and step-son ate half the cake in one afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Duncan, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I have had this recipe for years although my recipe calls for the topping to be added after the cake has cooled and put it under the broiler for a few minutes until it browns and carmelizes. Everyone I know absolutely loves it, it is my husbands favorite cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Momma Colvin
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Made this last night and I added a ripe banana as the only change. I was very surprised that my husband loved this cake. He as said that he has a new favorite cake. Thank you for this recipe. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I couldn't find my old recipe for the Oatmeal cake I used to make. I found this one and now I don't care if I find my old one. It was so moist and good. I took it to work and there wasn't hardly a crumb left when I brought my pan home. My husband loved it too. I also added 1teasoon of nutmeg. So Delilah!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gmalovesyou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Smithfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
My children love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States