Oatmeal Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
I made this today and it was really good. I made it in a 9x13 pan, but just put the serving size up to 32. At first it will seem as though there is not enough because this batter is thick, but just spread it with a spatula and it will come out perfect. I followed the recipe exactly, except instead of putting 3/4 cup of white sugar and 3/4 cup of brown sugar, I made a mixture of brown and white sugar that would come out to be 3/4 cup. In other words I just halved the amount of sugar. It was sweet even with only half the sugar! All that sugar is unnecessary. Other than that I loved this recipe. Except, the cinnamon in my opinion came out a little too much. But thats just me, I dont really like cinnamon very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Made this exactly as recipe stated except I left out the raisins and added pecan pieces. It was very good and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I made this today--it's perfect and very easy. moist and tender. I did add extra cinnamon and 1 cup instead of 1/2 cup raisins. My grand kids love raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This was just ok. didn't find anything spectacular about it. 13/x 15 pan just seemed too large for the amount of batter. I baked it in a 9.5" pie plate and baked for about 35 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This is a great base cake for a lot of add-ins! I don't like raisins so I added some Heath toffee chips and chocolate chips. I also made it in a 11x7 pan because I wanted it to be thicker. Very moist, looking forward to trying different add-ins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I used agave to substitue for the white sugar. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Perfect tasting as is. Could try bringing the cal. and fat down, by substituting applesauce for the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
pretty good with coffee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yesijadee
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
So yummy! I used blueberries instead of raisins and twice the cinnamon:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Wonderful cake! My husband and I devoured this cake over the weekend and I am already making this again! 1st time I made with 1/4 c raisins & 1/4 c semi-sweet choc. chips. My husband asked me to do 1 cup of the choc. chips only this time! I also made a crumb topping (from another review) which was 1/4 c brown sugar, 1/4 c flour & 1 T butter (adjusting as needed... in a 9x13 pan double that..in a round pan the measurement is fine). Also added confect. sugar to top! I will make this over and over and...over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States