Oatmeal Butterscotch Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Shellene
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I have made these cookies several times. I use 1/2 cup applesauce or pumpkin in place of 1/2 cup of butter and use 1/4 cup butter. Also only 1/2 cup white and brown sugar or less. Reduce amount of chips to 1 cup and add a cup of cashews. Soooo good! Never dry and always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Plowed through 2 dozen of these within 10 minutes between the 6 of us. They may replace chocolate chip cookies. I did not cook the full time, I don't like crunchy cookies. Another reviewer said it's the same as on the bag, lol, which I find funny. I didn't even look. Whatever, good cookies! Sometimes you don't need to reinvent the wheel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Hall

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Made the recipe exactly as it called for. Cookies are mostly soft and chewy, and is a recipe I will save to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary Olds
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
OMG! Delicious! The recipe is spot on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Olds

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nenah B
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
My 9 year old absolutely loves this recepie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nenah B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Sobrante, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
The flavor was good! Didn't turn out! Batter wasn't thick like a cookie batter should be and baking time was almost double and would still fall apart after baking. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
These cookies were fantastic! The whole family loved them. I'm sure I will make these again and again. I followed the recipe exactly, except I reduced the sugars. I used 1/2 cup each white and brown sugars as opposed to the 3/4 cup each the recipe called for. That made 1/2 cup less dry ingredients in the recipe which may have been why I did not experience the dry cookie that some of the other reviewers reported. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
my 8 yr old daughter's fav cookie. we make it every year for her class for holiday treats. use a tablespoon to scoop into cookies- as they do spread & rise a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I made these for the first time for Thanksgiving. It was so easy to make these cookies. By Thanksgiving day, more than have of the cookies were gone. The only thing I omitted was the cinnamon, which I do not prefer. They came out prefect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
These cookies are very good. I did take the advice of a few reviewers regarding the baking temperature,time,amount of sugar,butter, and flour. I also put them in the fridge for a while. I would say about 30 minutes as someone suggested. My cookies came out just right not too flat not too thick. The only ones that flattened a bit were the ones that had less dough and had more butterscotch morsels in it. This happended with my last batch. I highly recommend using 1/2 a cup of each of the sugars,because the butterscotch morsels will add the rest. Add the full cup of butter and 1 1/2 cup of flour. Bake for no more than 8 minutes and always do a test cookie according to the baking sheet you have. Darker sheets tend to brown them faster than the lighter colored ones. I also have a rule of letting the sheets cool off completely before putting more cookies on the same sheet. The principle is simple: a warm cookie sheet will start the melting of the butter much faster and therefore your cookie has a higher chance of spreading and burning. Please do refrigerate the dough before baking it this will also contribute to decrease the spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States