Oatmeal Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
i made this today, it was fine until i noticed it sank in the final 45 minutes. WHAT HAPPENED? will eat tomorrow and try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This was ok! Certainly not the best bread I have had..seemed a little too bland for me. If I make it again, will have to add more honey to it, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Although this has become my go to bread recipe, it is not quite perfect yet, and I am still experimenting to try to get it to be exactly like I want it. Here's what I know: if you use oil/marg/butter you'll not even notice the difference, so just use your preference. Usually I use 1/2 WW flour which turns out well. Per other reviews, I plan to add flaxseed, other seeds, and raisins with cinnamon in future attempts. Until the last loaf, I have been baking it in my bread machine, but this time I baked it in the oven and liked the result much better (i.e. no hole in the middle of the loaf). I baked it at 325 for about 35 minutes and it turned out nicely. On the yeast issue, I haven't experienced a problem of too much yeast, but I use bread machine yeast (2t) which requires less than active dry yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
First off, don't take my 3-star review literally; 5-star reviews, in my opinion, are saved for food that makes itself and tastes perfect every time. That being said, the recipe worked out great, but I changed a few things to compensate for my hatred of bread machines. After proofing the yeast in 1/2 cup warm water, I added 1/2 milk and 2 tbsp butter. I also put the oatmeal in the food processor to grind it to a flour consistency. Let it rise for 45 minutes in a greased, covered bowl, then punch down, form into a roll and let it rise again. Bake at 350 for 25-35 minutes. Take it and a tub of butter to a good hiding place and try not to eat it all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I have one of the old "The Bread Machine" 's This recipe is the best yet. I love the texture. I plan to try using this recipe and adding raisins and cinnamon. But just as it is, Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Txevey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Yes, this bread is outrageously delicious! Just one small adjustment use 2 1/4 teaspoons of yeast rather than the 1 tablespoon called for in the recipe. The dough still rose beautifully and no overly yeasty taste. Thanks, Liz. Fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I've made this twice now and it has over risen both times. The first time, I made it as written. The second time, I reduced the yeast to 2 1/4 t. and it was still too much. The flavor and texture is good, but I am still trying to find the right amount of yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
DELICIOUS! My husband loves this bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraR
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I made this in my KA as my bread machine isn't working. It's a tasty bread but I didn't a very big loaf.. I thought it would be bigger considering 3 c of flour and 1/2 c of oats. Perhaps it was a problem with the second rise. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This bread is absolutely delicious. I ate it plain and as a PB&J sandwich. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States