Oatmeal Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I must admit I hate when people rate a recipe and then write that they changed 6 things about it, that being said, I did not have dry milk so I follow the advice of another reviewer and used 1/2 cup real milk, 1/2 cup water and I increased the honey. IT ROCKED! Great bread. We have had it for breakfast as toast with jam, lunch as meatloaf sandwiches and dinner as garlic bread with pasta, and we really like it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This is really good light and flavorful bread, makes great toast for the next day. A few minor changes for my tastes. Instead of 1 1/4 cups water: changed to 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup milk, 1 egg and increased honey to 4 tablespoons. Am making for second time, love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
Good tasting bread. I substituted 2 cups white flour with 2 cups w.w.flour, because I like my bread more nutritious. The result was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
I substitute 2 c. of whole wheat and use the dough setting on my bread machine, then bake it in the oven for 25 min. at 350. This was one of the softest breads I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2000
This bread is the best I have ever tasted. The texture is smooth and mouth watering. TOTALY AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Unfortunately my loaf sunk down in the middle! According to my bread machine manual, means too much yeast was used. I was hesitant to add the full tablespoon of yeast because most loaves this size use only 1 1/2 tsp. Other than that, the bread still had a nice flavor. If I try again I will use half the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Everyone that has tried this bread loves it. I add an extra tablespoon of honey to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite Falls, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I modified the recipe like some and used 2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 cup white flour - super tasty! I love my bread with lots of wheat and this really does it! I recommend eating it right out of the oven (or machine) with a bit of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This is the one I have been looking for. It's perfect every time. I had a receipe similar to this and lost it. I am so happy to have found it and so is my family. Its moist, great for sandwiches or toast. I make this about two to three times per week depending on how often my kids come over. They love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
First off, don't take my 3-star review literally; 5-star reviews, in my opinion, are saved for food that makes itself and tastes perfect every time. That being said, the recipe worked out great, but I changed a few things to compensate for my hatred of bread machines. After proofing the yeast in 1/2 cup warm water, I added 1/2 milk and 2 tbsp butter. I also put the oatmeal in the food processor to grind it to a flour consistency. Let it rise for 45 minutes in a greased, covered bowl, then punch down, form into a roll and let it rise again. Bake at 350 for 25-35 minutes. Take it and a tub of butter to a good hiding place and try not to eat it all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob Richardson

Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States