Oatmeal Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
i have modified it by adding more oatmeal, give it a denser texture that i like. for every 1/2 c of extra oatmeal i decrease the flour by the same and it works great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This is one of my favorite bread machine recipes! I do add 1/2 cup chopped dates when my machine beeps,because I love dates. Also watch carefully, because I almost always start baking at least 15 min early otherwise the loaf hits the top of the lid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
My bread collapsed while baking. I don't think that's a problem with this recipe though, bc my machine has been doing that a lot lately...very annoying!! The taste was still good though, just a lot more dense than it ideally should have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I made this bread with my Kitchen Aid mixer from beginning to end, as I have with other bread recipes I've used in the last week. (See other reviews.) Very good bread. I had a piece right out of the oven, with butter. I like this a lot. Only change I made was using butter instead of margerine. Everything else was the same. Good tasting white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Unfortunately my loaf sunk down in the middle! According to my bread machine manual, means too much yeast was used. I was hesitant to add the full tablespoon of yeast because most loaves this size use only 1 1/2 tsp. Other than that, the bread still had a nice flavor. If I try again I will use half the yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This is the first recipe I tried in my bread machine and WOW! It is delicious. Everyone wanted more. This is going to become a staple for us. I am not a fan of powdered milk and so I substituted 3/4c milk and 1/2c water for the original water and powdered milk quantities. I used All Purpose Flour instead of Bread Flour. I also used butter instead of margarine. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariel Casperson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I've made this bread twice now. Ist time exactly as posted and loved it. The next time I swapped out 1/2 the regular flour for 12 grain flour (added vital gluten) and toasted about 1/4 c of seeds & nuts (flax, sunflower, sesame)Equally wonderful. Thanks so much for posting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I modified the recipe like some and used 2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 cup white flour - super tasty! I love my bread with lots of wheat and this really does it! I recommend eating it right out of the oven (or machine) with a bit of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Great bread! I set the timer for this to finish baking right about the time the alarm clock goes off in the morning. Great bread to start the day with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
My kids love it. I did take a previous posters advice and replaced some of the water with milk and eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States