Oatmeal Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I didn't have all night, so I proofed the bread over my warm oven. I just gave it about twice as long as usual to proof each time. This bread is tasty and had a decent crumb. It could be used for sandwiches which is the ultimate test. That said, my loaves weren't pretty. They were fairly rustic looking which is not typical for this experienced bread baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PeaceLoveJoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Just made this recipe for the first time. While it is light the loaves didn't get as tall as I would have liked. I also had to let it rise for more than 90 minutes. I think the next time I'll only make 3 loaves instead of the multiple loaves written in the recipe. Made it with honey, but next time will use 1/2 honey, 1/2 molassas because I think the molassas will add a good flavor. Overall I like the texture and will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gardeninglvr
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Easy recipe and excellent results. I didn't have time to do an overnight rise and it wasn't necessary. Just 1.5 hours and the dough was doubled at 80 degrees (placed on top of oven turn to warm). The dough was a little tougher than I'm used to so the kneading was a bit of work but definitely worth it. I only had about 2 hours for the second rise and it worked fine. I made two large loaves but if I had more time for the rising could have made 3. I did substitute 1/2 honey (after reading the suggestions) but don't think I'll do it next time as I like the taste of molasses. I also added an extra cup of whole wheat flour but forgot to reduce the white flour but it didn't affect the bread. Tastes very good and toasts wonderfully. A really beautiful loaf of bread -- very hearty but not heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardeninglvr

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Made a few suggested changes. Used half honey and half molasses. I also used half whole wheat flour and half bread flour. Great, sweet flavor and seems very light. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Halved the recipe and subbed honey for half of the molasses. This bread has a great flavor, but I was looking for something with a slightly lighter texture. When I make this again, I'll use rolled oats (used quick oats this time because it's what I had).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I am a bread baking fiend, and this one really fell a bit short in my book. First of all, it really, really needs more salt. Or, use a finer grain salt, like pickling salt. After I made this as it was, it had no flavor. Texture, yes. Egg sizes vary and you should try and use powdered eggs and cut the amount to one eggs worth. I would reccomend mixing 2 cups of flour with the warm wetworks and add the yeast. let it sit for about 20 minutes then start adding the rest of the flour. I make a lot of Rye and pumpernickel, and so the molasses concept didn't bother me. However, to speed the rising, I would definitely switch it to dark corn syrup or a honey mix. It make s a slightly lighter consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stimpy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sierra City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I haven't made fresh, homemade bread in probably 15 years....until today that is. I made this oatmeal bread hoping that it would taste like those loaves you get in restaurants while you are waiting for your meal. I think this recipe is pretty darn close!! After reading through all of the reviews I added 1/4 cup each of molasses and honey. I also used only bread flour. I ended up with two full sized loaves of thee most beautiful, moist, and tasty bread that I have ever prepared!! This is definitely a recipe I will use more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prosser, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
My daughter made this for 4-H. She recieved a purple! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I replaced molasses with honey (and increased the amount of salt), resulting in a wonderful bread that's gone without hours of being baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
WOW - turned out GREAT! I read some of the previous reviews and went with part honey part molasses. This is such an aromatic bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States